Tactical School 25 June 17

28 Jun

Working Dates: Sunday, June 25, 2017 to Wednesday, June 28, 2017

[12 pages]

Sunday, June 25, 2017 at 1:02 pm                       Journal: Parked by the field under a (messy) jacaranda tree. Okay, Lord, what do You want to say? Abraham has saddled his donkey, cut the wood before the burnt offering trek, and set out to the place in the distance that You have shown him. (Gen 22:3) I notice that Abraham cut the wood BEFORE he set out.

Pastor John Tolle wants us to know our neighbors so we can love on them. He’s bringing in intercessors to pray for his neighborhood, teaching us about prayer-walking, and following the nudges of the Holy Spirit. These are good things. And this donkey still doesn’t have a barn, but I have You, God. And for that I am eternally grateful!

Abraham has the wood and the fire. (v 7) I’m trusting You that You have led the Churches to lay the wood in order. (v 9) Pastor John is Your son on the top of the pile, but You have said not to lay a hand on him. (v 12)

Pastor John Tolle: God is looking for you and I to come to a place where we come to Him; where He is filling us with His purposes.

Fr Dwight Longenecker: What is doctrine and discipline anyway? Doctrine and discipline make distinctions. It is Christ’s church saying, “We believe this and not that. We expect this behavior and reject that behavior.”

Journal: I noticed that when Isaac asked Abraham where the lamb was for the burnt offering, Abraham answered his son using the son’s word in response to his question. God had already told Abraham that he would offer Isaac.

Genesis 22:2…and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains that I shall show you.”

Like a good Dad, Abraham listened to his son and used his son’s words in his response, even though God had not said anything about a lamb to Abraham.

Isaac: “The fire and the wood are here, but where is the lamb for a burnt offering?” (v 7)

It was Isaac who brought up the word “lamb.”

Abraham: “God himself will provide the lamb for a burnt offering, my son.” (v 8)

After his son is bound and laid on the unlit wood pyre (v 9), Abraham takes his knife out to kill his son. (v 10) But then an angel of the LORD calls to him from heaven. (v 11)

I get the message that I’m not supposed to lay a hand on Pastor John or do anything to him. (v 12) I fear God, since I have not withheld my “son,” and the Churches are my only son. (Rev 12:13) He was snatched up to God and to His throne. (v 5) I have been faithful and truthful with all of them. And the more I share, the more Pastor John cries how we are self-serving, orchestrating, manipulative, and agendized, rather than letting God use us for His agenda.

Lazer Gurkow: When viewed this way, the lesson of Miriam’s well is clear. The Yiddishe mama has a particular role to play in Jewish life. The Torah tells us that the obligation to teach Torah to the child falls primarily on the father.2 The father provides food for Torah thought directly to the child’s mind. The Yiddishe mama nurtures a home environment and a culture that extends the Torah to the child’s heart and facilitates the child’s ability to internalize it, allowing it to flow within the child like water. Thus, Miriam, the preeminent Yiddishe mama, provided the water. [2.Talmud, Kiddushin 30b, based on Deuteronomy 6:7.]

Journal: I was REALLY grateful that Rick Rizo came up to me before the service. He threw his arms around me in a big hug and said, “I THANK GOD for you!” There was genuine appreciation and sincere gratitude in his voice. He also said he liked my red blazer jacket and said the color looks good on me. That greeting was much more substantial than a side-hug and an air kiss toward the cheek with a “Hi, how are you, how’s your week been, it’s been hot, have a blessed day, gotta go, luv, luv…” This greeting from Rick’s heart made me wonder if he had read “Arc! Ark!” that I posted to my blog last night. [1] (The stats show no views at all, so I donno.)

Rick Rizo singled me out, like the Lord had sent him to me. I felt encouraged.

Later Pastor John confessed that the nudge of God was challenging his inner critic, as he dealt with a woman not paying attention on the drive to church, and his patience got tested. Was he arc-speaking that 21 pages tested his patience? Or is a cigar just a cigar?

Vicki Kemper: Why? Because love covers a multitude of sins—not his, but mine; not someone else’s, but ours.

As I reflect on this, I feel like the Lord was holding up both Rick Rizo and Pastor John side-by-side for me to look at. I don’t feel like I’m comparing the two. I feel like there’s some meaning or message I’m supposed to glean as I hold them up.

Shira Schechter: What do you think we can learn from the fact that the priests who prepare the red heifer, a rite of purification, become impure themselves in the process?

Rabbi Shaul Yosef Leiter: The Red Heifer is a divine decree that cannot be comprehended.[2]

Brat: Neither can a woman. Aren’t you glad?

Monday, June 26, 2017                      Verse of the Day

“‘Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord. ~ Leviticus 19:18 (NIV)

Rabbi Yaakov Beasley: MICAH 6:1  Hear ye now what the LORD saith: Arise contend thou before the mountains and let the hills hear thy voice.

2  Hear O ye mountains the LORD’S controversy and ye enduring rocks the foundations of the earth; for the LORD hath a controversy with His people and He will plead with Yisrael.

3  O My people what have I done unto thee? And wherein have I wearied thee? Testify against Me.

4  For I brought thee up out of the land of Mitzrayim and redeemed thee out of the house of bondage and I sent before thee Moshe Aharon and Miriam.

5  O My people remember now what Balak king of Moav devised and what Bilam the son of Beor answered him; from Shittim unto Gilgal that ye may know the righteous acts of the LORD.

To the Church of Pergamum Jesus said: Revelation 2: 14 Nevertheless, I have a few things against you: There are some among you who hold to the teaching of Balaam, who taught Balak to entice the Israelites to sin so that they ate food sacrificed to idols and committed sexual immorality.

Brat: Translation: Balaam blessed and did not curse Israel. (Numbers 22-24) Balaam took his frustration out on his donkey. Balaam got fat off of Balak’s ritual BBQ’s. There is a sexual rush that comes in that. They contain lifeforce. It’s natural. These cycles are no different than what happened between the Funny Bunnies and me. All the while the angel stood between Balaam and his donkey, whom he kept beating.

Numbers 22: 21 Balaam got up in the morning, saddled his donkey and went with the Moabite officials. 22 But God was very angry when he went, and the angel of the Lord stood in the road to oppose him. Balaam was riding on his donkey, and his two servants were with him. 23 When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord standing in the road with a drawn sword in his hand, it turned off the road into a field. Balaam beat it to get it back on the road.

24 Then the angel of the Lord stood in a narrow path through the vineyards, with walls on both sides. 25 When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord, it pressed close to the wall, crushing Balaam’s foot against it. So he beat the donkey again.

26 Then the angel of the Lord moved on ahead and stood in a narrow place where there was no room to turn, either to the right or to the left. 27 When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord, it lay down under Balaam, and he was angry and beat it with his staff. 28 Then the Lord opened the donkey’s mouth, and it said to Balaam, “What have I done to you to make you beat me these three times?”

29 Balaam answered the donkey, “You have made a fool of me! If only I had a sword in my hand, I would kill you right now.”

30 The donkey said to Balaam, “Am I not your own donkey, which you have always ridden, to this day? Have I been in the habit of doing this to you?”

“No,” he said.

31 Then the Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the road with his sword drawn. So he bowed low and fell facedown.

32 The angel of the Lord asked him, “Why have you beaten your donkey these three times? I have come here to oppose you because your path is a reckless one before me. 33 The donkey saw me and turned away from me these three times. If it had not turned away, I would certainly have killed you by now, but I would have spared it.”

34 Balaam said to the angel of the Lord, “I have sinned. I did not realize you were standing in the road to oppose me. Now if you are displeased, I will go back.”

35 The angel of the Lord said to Balaam, “Go with the men, but speak only what I tell you.” So Balaam went with Balak’s officials.

Rabbi Yaakov Beasley: In Nahum’s final prophecy against Nineveh, God addresses Assyria directly. The statement “Behold, I am against thee” testifies that the nations set to fight against Assyria are only the puppets of God, who is ultimately controlling the events. The punishment of uncovering the nakedness of Assyria mirrors the punishment traditionally given to unfaithful spouses (Hosea 2:5). Assyria gained power by “seducing” smaller nations, enticing them into alliances and then breaking their word and enslaving them. Assyria acted unfaithfully and will therefore receive the punishment of the unfaithful. Those who were humiliated by Assyria are now going to witness Assyria’s humiliation.

Lazer Gurkow: The Torah teaches us that G‑d dwells in the heart of the Jew just as much as He dwelled in the Temple. Thus, if we want to know how the Jewish women of old, under the guidance of their Yiddishe mamas, built families and homes, we need to consider their contributions to the building of the Tabernacle.

Journal: Something else that I noticed while I read the Abraham and Isaac passage this morning was that the father and son had thought that God would provide a LAMB. (v 8) The son planted the seed of the idea. BUT God provided a RAM instead; not what they were expecting.

Talk about addressing expectations and agendas!

The one whom you love… (v 1)

Vicki Kemper: In any other situation, I might have tried to tell him how I felt and where I stood. More likely, I would have given him a piece my mind and then closed my heart, writing him off as one of “those people.”

But I couldn’t begin to do that. Why? Because I already loved him. Because I knew well his integrity and held dear his humanity. Because I already loved him, I couldn’t go all judge-y on him.

Brat: In my Mamma Circles, we have a saying: “He’s a prick, but he’s MY prick.” That means we acknowledge he’s difficult, but no one else has the right to degrade him.

Monk: Mamma says…!

Journal: To Abraham’s great credit, he stayed focused on the fact THAT God provided, and not that God didn’t provide a lamb. He was (I imagine) so grateful that God provided anything, so he didn’t have to sacrifice his son, that he didn’t have a critical spirit that said, “God, You didn’t meet my criteria.” I’m sure that never entered his heart-mind. So what if God sent a ram and not a lamb as they expected? His son was spared, they made a sacrifice of what God provided and offered it back to Him. Abraham named that spot “The LORD will provide.” The focus was on the Lord’s provision.

Does my “son” have a critical spirit?

I have been up against this same spirit in every Church going all the way back to the beginning at St Patrick’s. No amount of praying and fasting seems to actually get rid of it. I surrender this to You, Lord. No one can fight this spirit. It keeps people bound, put on their pyres, and they carry their own fire and knives. (Gen 22:6)

This whole culture seems plagued or infiltrated by a critical spirit. Those who flow in joy are at risk of being deflated by critics. And it doesn’t help when leaders deflate the joy by telling us we’re the ones who are agendized, and it feels like we have to take responsibility for their jobs, (when they should be passing us along, rather than telling us what a hard job they have, and in turn they try to pump up, energize, and coach the team that is already battle worn and needs rest.) Lord, turn this around! Bless Pastor John and give him mercy!

Vicki Kemper: Prayer
Great Merciful God, cover my sins with your love, that I might be changed.

Moshe Yaakov Wisnefsky: Our present situation is seen as an extension of the Roman subjugation, since culturally and legally western civilization shares the values and world-view of ancient Rome.

Rabbi Shaul Yosef Leiter: Lack of spiritual connection leads to the spiritual impurity of the exile.

Fr Dwight Longenecker: Think of it like this: if you are playing football you have a set of rules and regulation. There is a rule book. In order to play the game you not only need the rule book, but everybody involved in the game needs to know the rules and agree to abide by them. Both teams agree to the rules. The individual players agree to the rules. The referees and coaches agree to the rules and the audience in the bleachers know and agree to the rules.

Lazer Gurkow: It goes without saying that there are exceptions to most rules, and in some houses the mother takes the lead role in educating the children, and the father takes the lead in nurturing a loving tone in the home. It is also true that most men and women overlap in both areas. But on the whole, the mother’s and father’s roles are distinctive in the Torah: the mother nurtures, and the mitzvah to teach Torah to the next generation rests on the shoulders of the father.

Brat: In our culture, Liberals say the woman’s place is wherever she wants it to be. Traditionalists say the woman’s role is in the home. I’ve been trying to get back into God’s house.

Monk: It takes a thief. (Rev 3:3; Rev 16:15)

Journal: The Churches are supposed to work together so they don’t burn out. They each have gifts to offer towards God’s agenda:

Thyatira has the gift of service.

Sardis has the gift of missions.

Philly has the gift of honesty.

Smyrna has the gift of faith.

Ephesus has the gift of perseverance.

Pergamum has the gift of grace.

Laodicea has the gift of witness.

Lord, take these gifts and anoint them for Your glory. Help Your Churches (and Jewish friends) to work together. Each are notes in Your score.

Rabbi YY Jacobson (from “Arc! Ark!” 21 June 17): Why did G-d create multiplicity? Because the deepest unity is the unity found within diversity. If we are all the same, unity is no achievement. The truest unity is achieved when differentiations and demarcations are imposed upon the primordial oneness, and its component parts are each given a distinct role in existence, complementing each other. Like notes in a ballad, each of us represents a unique and distinct note, and together we recreate a cosmic Divine symphony, not by singing the same note, but by expressing our individual note as an indispensable part of the song. Every individual existence is part of a symphonious expression of the singular essence of its Creator. In this world we must achieve unity within diversity.

Yerachmiel Tilles: “The Lubavitcher Rebbe said: tell her that because she wants to marry a gentile there is a Jew in New York that can’t sleep nights.”

Ascent of Safed: A note from the staff of Kabbalah Online in Tzefat

The transcendence of all limitations that will characterize the Era of the Redemption will be all-encompassing. Therefore, all entities will exist on an infinitely higher plane during that era than they exist at present. This will affect both the world at large as well as the realm of Torah. With regard to the world, there will then be a “new heaven and a new earth.” (Isaiah 65:17) With regard to the Torah [the medium through which the world was created – “He gazed into Torah and created the world” (Zohar II, beginning of 161b)], “new [dimensions of the] Torah will emerge from Me” (Vayikra Rabba 13:3).

To the Church of Philadelphia Jesus said: Revelation 3: 11 I am coming soon. Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take your crown. 12 The one who is victorious I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will they leave it. I will write on them the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on them my new name.

Ascent of Safed: The new dimension of Torah study will in turn lead to an innovation in creation, as well (for “He gazed into Torah and created the world”) bringing about “a new heaven and a new earth.”

Bishop Daniel Flores: The WORD is our most constant and mysterious companion. In some way we come together during these days to celebrate the poverty of the WORD. And this in two principle senses. We rejoice in the poverty assumed by the WORD when he took flesh, and secondly we celebrate that poverty that shows itself both in what we can say and in what we cannot say of Him. For in “trying to say God” we encounter all of these poverties, and more. By his poverty we are made rich. (2 Cor 8,9.)[3]

Brat: The poverty of Jesus the Word was simplicity itself. Personally speaking (and I am taking a risk of sounding like Balaam right now), I bless you that you have sanctuary to house the word. I truly do! If you could see my heart weeping in joy and love and longing, aching to find my tribe, you would know my blessing is genuine and not from bitterness. You have what you have because God gave it to you. However, please, (and this is a big PLEASE!) see the donkey’s angel standing in front of you in the road. May God open your heart to do the right thing and make space for us anointed creative artists. We are to love our neighbors as ourselves. I’ve been sharing God’s word out of the poverty of my heart from His. It seems to go nowhere. However, His Word says that it never returns void.

Isaiah 55:11so is My word that goes out from My mouth: It will not return to Me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

My head knows that what God and the Word says that is true. My heart knows that going on deferred hope for ten years makes the heart weary.

Sunday, June 25, 2017 at 3:56 pm             Journal: Okay, Lord, we intercessors are Your elite Special Ops Force. We have a nursery of officers with gifts, but they seem paralyzed on the battlefield, because they feel enveloped by an enemy flank and cannot draft a written order to the troops to get the Book of Life out of hock on the basis of inadequate data on the terrain given to them. They have the Bible. That is definitely NOT inadequate! It’s the miscommunication that is thwarting advance. The men should be trained for initiative and tactical judgment rather than for the correct solution.[4] Help us to get Abraham’s ram to him.

Marshall: “Move, shoot, and communicate.” (p 124)

Rabbi Yerachmiel Tilles: “How will this help?” he was thinking to himself after he put down the phone, “it makes no sense! The girl will just laugh at me!”

Helen Calder: The message of the Gospel is good news. It is not exclusive, it is inclusive. The invitation of salvation is available to every person—but according to Scripture, it requires an RSVP.

Binyomin Adilman: If one should feel overwhelmed or crushed by the evil inclination and feel paralyzed in his divine service, he needs only to look at the tzadik and to remember that he (the tzadik) once was in the same position. He looked to G‑d for help and picked up a little miracle. There is never a need for despair.

Journal: From what I heard in the pews after the sermon, it sounds like the Churches are still doing parallel play in the sandbox.

That critical spirit must be taken down once and for all.

Patricia King: Men Will Arise in Every Sphere

Fr Dwight Longenecker: The rules of the game do not divide. They unify. They unify everyone who wants to play the game. Do the rules of football exclude people who are playing lacrosse? Sure. Do they exclude people who are playing a tuba in an orchestra? They have nothing to do with music.

Monk: So, why does the marching band play at home games?

Brat: [Slow exhale…]

Vicki Kemper: Sister Helen had plenty of opportunities, but the one she constantly chose and re-chose was the path to God’s heart. She believes our desire for God is more important than the path we take. She knows the joy of the chase and the wholeness that comes from perpetual praise.

Journal: So, since I’m riding the wings of an eagle in this desert (Rev 12:14), then show me what I’m really seeing. How can I get this nursery of officers working together? What do the rabbis have to say? I believe the officers know what gifts they have, otherwise they wouldn’t have made it this far. Do they know each others’ gifts, so they can draw upon them? The phrase “Use me, Lord” is most potent when we know the strengths of others on our own team. We all pray. I think they’ve been studying the enemy for so long that they know the enemy better than their friends. (That is one of the tactics of the enemy to make one think that all his friends have become enemies. And to make him so busy that he doesn’t have time to see the simple beauty that God has provided.)

Key Question: Does the Church really want the Book of Life?

If she does, does she want to get it back?

If she wants it, does she know where she lost it? Does she know that she lost it?

What does it mean to her?

What would she offer in leverage to negotiate its return?

Is there neutral ground where letters can be exchanged to negotiate its return?

Charisma Media: 100 FREE Pastoral Letters for EVERY Occasion

Brat: I see. Nothing personal.

Rick Joyner: Of course, a serious question would be, are we a better church because of this? Are we better Christians? Some are. Some are relentlessly in pursuit of God, to know His ways, His voice, and to know the times and His purpose in them. Such are taking every advantage of the abundance of spiritual food available now.

Journal: The angel in Revelation 10 handed the scroll to John of Patmos, who took it and ate it. The voice from heaven had spoken to him once more. (v 8) When John ate it, it made his stomach turn sour yet in his mouth it was as sweet as honey. (v 9)

Vicki Kemper: Our time together had been rich, too. Sequestered from our real lives, infused with inspiration, united in a common task, all our needs supplied, we had fallen in love with one another. It was that Stockholm syndrome kind of love: born of an intense shared experience, our knowledge of each other only an inch wide but a mile deep.

In the readings for next Sunday the Lectionary Barons chose a passage from Jeremiah 28 that (to me) is a directional clue.

Jeremiah 28:7 But listen now to this word that I speak in your hearing and in the hearing of all the people.

28:8 The prophets who preceded you and me from ancient times prophesied war, famine, and pestilence against many countries and great kingdoms.

28:9 As for the prophet who prophesies peace, when the word of that prophet comes true, then it will be known that the LORD has truly sent the prophet.”

Fr Dwight Longenecker: While we’re thinking about it, why does no one ever call out the hypocrisy of the dissenters. Let’s take the notorious case of politicians who call themselves Catholic, but support abortion.

Brat: I did call out the hypocrisy of the dissenters. They were too busy to listen. The tyranny of stress and the tyranny of boredom are cruel taskmasters. I know some people dream of boredom to relieve the tyranny of stress, but I think peace is allowing the divine Flow to move as it needs to go. Life doesn’t have to be forced. Life is a force waiting for partnership and beckoning stewardship, just as God commanded of us in the Garden in the very beginning. We all have equal rights, but not equal drives and ambitions. Any observer of politics can see that. Nor do we have the same definition of success. Those that can, have the courage to try. Those that can’t, seem to risk ending up wanting to lynch the ones who do. That does not create peace. In truth the Church herself aborted her baby because she lost her focus and anchor, and God really did snatch him up to His throne. (Rev 12:5) And the Yenta Mamma has been looking for her child ever since.

Rick Joyner: Benjamin was also one of only three people in Scripture born in Bethlehem, Jesus and King David being the other two. Bethlehem means “house of bread,” or “place of food.” How much more spiritual food has the church of this time been given over any other church period? Not only do we have some of the most extraordinary teachers of all time, we have more books and teaching series available through different media sources, including the internet and Social Media. There has never been a time like this for spiritual enrichment. The Lord likes to save His best wine for last, but this is certainly more than we could have expected.

And Jesus said in the Gospel Lesson:

Matthew 10:40 “Whoever welcomes you welcomes Me, and whoever welcomes Me welcomes the One who sent Me.

10:41 Whoever welcomes a prophet in the name of a prophet will receive a prophet’s reward; and whoever welcomes a righteous person in the name of a righteous person will receive the reward of the righteous;

10:42 and whoever gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones in the name of a disciple — truly I tell you, none of these will lose their reward.”

The rabbis are awaiting Elijah the Prophet to pave the way for the return of the Messiah.

Moshe Yaakov Wisnefsky: Dedication

The Jewish people were subjugated over the course of history by four kingdoms. The final subjugation, immediately preceding the messianic age, is under Rome. Our present exile is seen as an extension of the Roman subjugation, since western civilization shares the values and worldview of ancient Rome.

Fr Dwight Longenecker: Instead the world says, “Gee, aren’t they brave? Aren’t they courageous? Aren’t they strong to stand up to the big, nasty old Catholic Church.

Brat: The pope is also seated in Rome (or the Vatican in Rome, rather.) Just sayn…This could be a win-win. Not that he’s the Messiah. Just that he could help get us out of this mess and the glory goes back to Jesus.

Journal: Tactically speaking, it makes sense to welcome a righteous person. Marshall welcomed Stilwell to join the Infantry Staff at Fort Benning’s Officer’s Training School. Marshall and Stilwell were like-minded. They drew from each other’s gifts and those rewards were written down for us to learn from. Is that not the benefit of drawing from the Book of Life?

John of Patmos was a disciple of Jesus. He ate the scroll. He asked for it first. (Rev 10:9) That is one thing the Funny Bunnies seldom did. They took the scroll without asking. I’m also culpable because I gave it. I wanted to believe that the gesture was a form of asking. (Silly me.) In Revelation 10:11, after he eats the scroll, John prophesies again to many peoples, nations, languages, and kings.

Pastor John Tolle also has the potential to get the prophetic word out. And he would walk in the name of a disciple. But if he’s still struggling with a critical spirit then how would he be able to shoot straight?

Rabbi Yerachmiel Tilles: The date for the wedding is already set.

Journal: If he’s still seeing the Book of Life as some ethereal tome at the Pearly Gates like a guest book that people sign when they attend weddings, then how is anything learned from that? The Book of Life has to carry more weight in the heart than just a heavenly-after-I-die-and-I’m-a-friend-of-the-Groom’s significance. The Book of Life has substance and tools, wisdom and correction, song and creativity, connections and insights. The Book of Life worships God with us in this life and leaves a legacy. It is a book of LIFE, on life, in life, for life, and to Life. L’Chaim!

Fr Dwight Longenecker: Geesh!

Lazer Gurkow: If we want our children’s hearts to be a Tabernacle for G‑d, we need to invest the ingredients that our Yiddishe mama taught her generation to invest in G‑d’s home. After all, we want our children to know us not only as their mama, but as their Yiddishe mama. We want to know that we gave them what they need to grow up as proud, educated and resolute Jews.5 [5.This essay is based on a talk the Lubavitcher Rebbe gave to counselors in camp in 1957, and a talk given by the Previous Rebbe to Jewish women in Riga in 1934.]

Sunday, June 25, 2017 at 5:38 pm                       Journal: Fr Dwight Longenecker has the weight of the Catholic Church behind him. Their gift is Service. If Fr Dwight and Pastor John paired up, then service and perseverance would have complementary energy. Add to that Smyrna’s faith and the trail is not as steep. Add Philly’s honesty and that anchors faith in this realm. Add Pergamum’s grace and then the team is working on initiative and judgment, just as Kim Clement used to do, rather than from correct solutions. That doesn’t absolve the team from trying, but it relieves the team from the pressure. Sardis can carry the good news beyond the walls of the Church. And Laodicea where it all started? She was a witness. Ultimately the Book of Life will get to her. Right now there is no means to do this, because she’s still too busy to recognize what she has. She’s still part of the Team. I just don’t see a slot for her until she says she wants one. Facebook posts of quaint Anglican sayings doesn’t show much of a change of heart. Every time they do that, I ride the wave of Potential and think they mean it, and then like a disappointed Golden Retriever, my heart sinks and I get mad at myself for falling for it again.

Lubavitcher Rebbe: A person must ponder when the last time was that he honestly thought about Mashiach in a way that was personally meaningful; that all of the above is truly referring to him and not to someone else; that, through Mashiach, the Holy One Blessed Be He is about to take him out of this exile and he himself, with Mashiach, will go to the Land of Israel! Each person should seclude himself to a place where he will be alone and there make a true account.

Brat: [Sigh.] That’s been my point all along. I’ve been asking for a secluded, quiet, safe place to anchor, pray, and write. I’m still in my car after ten years of trying to get the Churches to hear and work together. Jesus knows and the scroll bears witness.

Vicki Kemper: We don’t have to leave the world to develop an undivided heart. We needn’t live behind cloistered walls to become whole. And who says life with God can’t be fun?

Brat: Where’s my tribe?

Bishop Daniel Flores: Trying To Say God: An Address to the Artists

Moshe Yaakov Wisnefsky: In order to regain entry into the realm of pure life, the individual must undergo a purification process, which serves to cure his depression (real or potential) and reorient him back toward the enthusiasm and vitality of holiness.

Rabbi Shaul Yosef Leiter: Doing so will lead us to thoughts of returning to G‑d. Through this we can bring the Final Redemption immediately, since these sincere thoughts will bring us, and the whole world, merit in the eyes of Heaven, and thereby precipitate the Redemption. If we accept upon ourselves to serve as “illuminators”, to lead and to enlighten all of those around us, then through our shining forth with the “candle of the mitzvot and the light of the Torah” (Proverbs 6:23), we will dispel the darkness of exile and bring the light of the Redemption. This must be undertaken with genuine effort and self-sacrifice.

Vicki Kemper: For most of us, “undivided” can sound both boring and scary. We worry about what we might miss if we gave more of our heart to God. It can be hard to imagine a life in which God alone is enough.

Brat: Do you have a barn?

Lazer Gurkow: The Torah tells us that the women contributed to the building of the Tabernacle before the men did. This is consistent with what we mentioned above about the order of Jewish life. The role of the Yiddishe mama begins much earlier than the task of the Yiddishe father. And what did these women contribute?

Journal: I need a tactical plan just as much as the rest of the Special Ops Team. Another advantage that the Catholics have is that they have the pope. He’s a genuine leader. The other Churches say that they have leaders (and call them by big titles), but none of them have proven their salt the way this man has. He’s on our Team. Does he even know it?

“The LORD will provide.” (Gen 22:14)

And I need the freedom to breathe without the Church breathing down my neck and saying that I’m manipulating, self-serving, and self-agendized. I still need sanctuary. Having a need is not a sin. If anything, it drives my prayers toward resolution. The end result should be a win-win.

Vicki Kemper: Under different circumstances, our mutual affection might have been stymied by the details of personal preference and position—politics, theology, insufferable personality tics. But we had back-burnered all that to focus on a craft that required us to be both brave and vulnerable. Day by day, fondness grew alongside respect.

Eliyahu Touger: This is why the divine service of the generation that immediately precedes Mashiach‘s arrival contains a certain dimension of superiority over the divine service accomplished by the Jewish people in previous generations. In addition, the divine service within this generation at the very conclusion of the period of exile has an incomparable advantage.

Moshe Yaakov Wisnefsky: Because the defilement of death is the source of all others, its purification rite is the most extreme and most mysterious in the entire Torah. As we said, the law of nature indeed decrees that sooner or later everything and everyone will succumb to death. To defy this law is to defy logic, and, therefore, the rite of purification from death hails from a level of existence that defies logic; it is a “statute”, a seemingly arbitrary expression of G‑d’s will, devoid of logical rationale and even contravening logic altogether.

Monk: I’m trying to keep the conversation going and you’re talking death?

Lazer Gurkow: The lesson of Miriam’s well is clear. The Yiddishe mama has a particular role to play in Jewish life.

Sunday, June 25, 2017 at 6:14 pm             Journal: Okay, Lord, what if the Special Ops Team worked backwards in Matthew 10:40-42? I was one of the little ones (v 42) in the name of Jesus in the name of John of Patmos sent to St Patrick’s Episcopal Church ten years ago. I am a pew pest and Jesus sent me to the leaders.

Monk to Brat: Here, take a sip of cold water.

Brat: Thank you.

Fr Dwight Longenecker was welcomed into the Catholic brotherhood as a righteous (v 41) member in the name of the pope (I assume.) They trace that line back to St Peter who welcomed Jesus who sent him.

James Goll is a seer prophet who is welcomed in the name of a prophet (v 41), Steve Shultz, founder of the Elijah List. For the record, over the years I have contributed to the Welcome. James also has connections to Rick Joyner of MorningStar Ministries. (Rev 2:28) The company of prophets come in the name of Elijah. The Jews are waiting for Elijah.

Whoever welcomes Pastor John Tolle welcomes Jesus and the Father who sent him. (v 40)

So far there hasn’t been much spirit of Welcome in any camp. Not that it’s not there; it just doesn’t reach me. I’ve had to be more like a Dodge truck: “Ram tough.”

What was that about …

Jeremiah 28:9 As for the prophet who prophesies peace, when the word of that prophet comes true, then it will be known that the LORD has truly sent the prophet.”

Rabbi YY Jacobson: When Neither Heaven Nor Earth Can Define a Person

Brat: That’s like what St Patrick’s Church said to me. Fr David said, “You are called. We just don’t know what to call you.”

Eliyahu Touger: May it be G‑d’s will that this occur most speedily; that our present deeds and divine service hasten the time when we will greet our Righteous Mashiach. And then, we will witness the actual fulfillment of the prophecy: “As in the days of your exodus from Egypt, I will show you wonders.”

Brat: Holy God, give us eyes to see the miracles You are bestowing. Soften our hearts to welcome what You send and that it would reinforce the message that You are Good.

 

[1] https://wordpress.com/post/truthinus.wordpress.com/950

[2] Monday, June 26, 2017 Weekly at Ascent. The content of “Kabbalah Online magazine” is produced weekly by www.kabbalaonline.org and is copyrighted. If you enjoyed this magazine, we encourage you to distribute it further, provided that you do NOT delete any part of this paragraph or the line of subscription information that follows it. If you wish to republish any part of this magazine in a periodical, book, or website, please email webmaster@kabbalaonline.org.

[3] http://www.patheos.com/blogs/sickpilgrim/2017/06/trying-say-god-address-artists-bishop-daniel-flores/?ref_widget=trending&ref_blog=catholicbookblogger&ref_post=shining-like-sun-angels-day-331

[4] Borrowed from Barbara W. Tuchman, Stilwell and the American Experience in China, 1911-45 (1970); p 123

Leave a Reply

