What Rebellion?

9 Feb

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 5 After Epiphany 09 February 2014
What Rebellion?
Conversation with Jesus in The Garden:
Me: “Lord, may I talk with You?”
Jesus: “Sure; pull up a bench.”
Me: “I have an issue with the lectionary readings this week.”
Jesus: “Oh, really? How’s that?”
Me: “You give the command:
Isaiah 58:1 “Shout out, do not hold back! Lift up your voice like a trumpet! Announce to My people their rebellion, to the house of Jacob their sins.”
Jesus: “Ok. So, what’s the problem?”
Me: “Their sins (plural) are forgiven. There’s only one sin. The prophets still won’t talk to me face-to-face. You said:
Mt 5:17 “Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets; I have come not to abolish but to fulfill.”
Me: “You said:
Rev 10:7 “but in the days when the seventh angel [!] is to blow his trumpet [!], the mystery of God will be fulfilled [!], as He announced to His servants the prophets [!].”
Jesus: “Yes.”
Me: “Things are hinging on the prophets! The Church [law] already got the message. The prophets just keep dragging their feet. And it’s never enough with them.
Jesus: “For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth pass away, not one letter, not one stroke of a letter, will pass from the law until all is accomplished.” (Mt 5:18)
Me: “Lord, You already said, “It is done!” And I have I have let them know over and over:
“Pssst…!”: Reflection for 3 Epiphany on 23 January 2011
“Legacy”: Reflection for 7 Easter on 05 June 2011
“Cornerstone”: Reflection for 16 After Pentecost on 02 October 2011
“Fleshy Innocence”: Reflection for 19 After Pentecost on 07 October 2012
“For All Saints, First Things Have Passed Away”: Special Reflection for All Saints’ Day on 01 Nov 2012
“Great Grace”: Reflection for 5 After Easter on 28 April 2013
“Prayer for Mercy”: Reflection for 23 After Pentecost on 27 Oct 2013
Me: “Hello? You said it’s been fulfilled; done already. Fini. So why won’t they talk to me? Isn’t reconciliation part of the law that concerns the prophets? Isn’t one of the least of the commandments to go and be reconciled to our brother? (Mt 5:24) I have tried repeatedly to reconcile with the brotherhood. Lord, You said that whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments, and teaches others to do the same will be called the least in the kingdom of heaven. (Mt 5:19) I hope I didn’t teach them to break the commandment. I know I have broken a lot of rules and my temper has gotten me in trouble time and again, but I have asked for mercy and forgiveness. I have tried to show the way of forgiveness. I have asked them to look at the meaning of contempt (‘Raca’, v 22) and asked them not to hold me in contempt; I have cried out “Bonehead!” in frustration more than once, but I am pretty sure I have not thought of anyone as a “fool” (v 22), because 1) I don’t think along those lines, and 2) I have been hurt myself by someone calling me a fool.”
Jesus: “I know. You’ve done everything I’ve asked you to do.”
Me: “You said to share our bread with the hungry (Isa 58:7), to bring the homeless into Your house (v 7), to cover the vulnerable (naked) (v7), and not to hide from Your own kin. (v 7) The prophets are my brothers. They are my own kin, and You sent me to them. I did not hide from them.”
Jesus: “True.”
Me [crying]: “Lord, I am still in my car!”
Jesus [with deep compassion]: “I know.”
Me: “I have been honest and vulnerable with the prophets. I repeat: I have not hidden from my own kin! The prophets are my brothers! Help me! You promised:
Isa 58:9a Then you shall call, and the LORD will answer; you shall cry for help, and He will say, Here I am.”
Jesus: [Empathetic sigh.] “Here I Am.”
Me: “If I don’t stop wailing, they’ll call me the “Wailing Prophet”!”
Jesus: “No they won’t.”
Me: “Huh?”
Jesus: “Jeremiah’s got that title.” [Grin.]
Me: “Ok. But really, all kidding aside, after all these years, the prophets still won’t talk to me! Did someone teach the brothers to break the covenant and insist on withholding direct contact with me across the board?”
Jesus: “I can’t tell you that.”
Me: “Well, whether it was deliberate or accidental, please forgive them. Would You do more than forgive, Lord? Would You reconcile us? We’re redeemed, but not reconciled yet.”
Jesus: [Big smile.]
Me: “Ya’know, I could tickle You!”
Jesus: “Just try!”
The next day I was thinking about what Jesus had said in
Mt 5:18 For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth pass away, not one letter, not one stroke of a letter, will pass from the law until all is accomplished.
Hmmmm…“Until heaven and earth pass away…” Does that phrase mean detachment, to not have a stake in, to be removed and not care in a holy sense (as in there being no ego baggage or agenda, so that God can have His way)? Until we drop our ego baggage not one letter will pass from the Church? Is this why my writings have been blocked? If the “law” (v 17) in my situation represents the Church-as-Institution and Jesus did not come to abolish the Institution, and He has said that He wants to reconcile the prophets with the Church, and the prophets fulfill prophetic word, then not one letter or stroke of a letter will pass from the covenantal law with the Church until all is accomplished (v 18) by the prophets, for they are catalysts and connectors to provide interpretation and understanding to others. The Church herself has the provisions. The prophets are the spokes on Elijah’s chariot wheels. (2 Kings 2:11) The Church is like the carriage. We have to work together! We will not experience heaven on earth or earth as in heaven (Mt 6:10) until the prophets reconcile. Let peace begin with me! Reconciliation is the great mystery of God, o prophets! (Rev 10:7)
I clearly “saw” that 01 February 2014 was a demarcation date and I shared that with the prophets. Then there ensued a week from hell… Was it something I said? So then what did I do? I wrote it out, falling back upon my gifts and talents and trusting God to use them for His glory. I stuck to God’s mandates to me that came with my calling: Worship God! Share the Journey! God promised to have my rear guard with His Shekinah glory. (Isa 58:8) And I wrestled with Bobby Conner.
And for the record, in my worldview framework, I “see” Bobby like Peter.
Friday, February 07, 2014 at 6:23 am Journal: Hmmmmm… Still Tracking!…
Rev 2:9 “I know your affliction and your poverty, even though you are rich.
I KNOW THE SLANDER ON THE PART OF THOSE WHO SAY
that they are Jews [Christians] and are not, but are a synagogue of Satan.”
Detach. Breathe. Holy. Breathe. Anchor. Breathe. What is God saying below all the noise?
Definition: slander
noun
1. defamation; calumny: rumors full of slander.
2. a malicious, false, and defamatory statement or report: a slander against his good name.
3. Law. defamation by oral utterance rather than by writing, pictures, etc.
verb (used with object)
4. to utter slander against; defame.
verb (used without object)
5. to utter or circulate slander.
God, help me to look at this objectively. Yes, I feel violated that what I put in the body of my original message is not what actually went out or came back. I hate the inference that I’m holding on to old baggage (what did he say?) Spirits of bitterness and unforgiveness? Unloving spirit? Anger? Fear? Shame? Guilt? Regret? Renounce my agreement with these evil works of darkness and repent from my sins receiving the Lord’s mercy and forgiveness by the Blood of His Cross? I did! All of it! Been there. Done that. Not holding on to it. Poured holy oil on it. I’m looking at Jesus Christ! Right in the eye!
How bizarre. Bobby and I are both crying out the repentance message but we’re on opposite mesa flats with a canyon between us.
In the big picture, this is not slander. Slander is name-calling. Aside from the fact that there was a written insertion into my work that I did not put in there, plus this was not oral (per definition), and we should be having a face-to-face or email-to-email conversation, still there is no defamation. And it is still true that all of us are being sifted like wheat, and Bobby is like Peter, and I am still praying for Bobby! He leads the Church at Smyrna! How can I not pray for him? Knowing that Bobby is the kingpin leader/connector bridge between the prophets and the Churches is not an “imagination” that needs to be “cast down.” Rejection? Rebellion? Disobedience? Lies that sound like my own inner voice? Bobby, who is the one who is suffering? (Rev 2:10) Next Monday (10 Feb 14) it will be ten days since you posted “Be An Overcomer.”
Rev 2: 10 Do not fear what you are about to suffer. Beware, the devil is about to throw some of you into prison so that you may be tested,
AND FOR TEN DAYS YOU WILL HAVE AFFLICTION.
Be faithful until “death,” and I will give you the crown of life.
It sounds to me like instead of the inner voice casting down, it is the very same voice that needs to start lifting up and believing that I come in peace and Truth. We’re on the same team. I’m on Jesus Christ’s team. I’m an Anchoress! I know who I am, do you?
Friday, February 07, 2014 at 8:30 am I sent “Tracking” to Bobby Conner (via email)
Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 8:30 AM [!] Mike Evans of the Jerusalem Prayer Team sent me an email at the exact same time; subject: The elephant in the room. Even though Mike was referring to Jewish-Palestinian conflict issues, the elephant is the elephant is the elephant! Truth spoken at 8:30 am on Friday, 07 February 2014: Shabbat. It is my personal Sabbath, too. Shalom. Go in peace! We’re on the same team. I’m on Jesus Christ’s team. I’m an Anchoress! I know who I am, do you?
How do we fight the violence that the Kingdom of Heaven suffers (Mt 11:12) if we don’t know who we are? God calls us each by name. (Isa 40:26) If the starry host is each called out by name, how much more does God not also call us out by name? We are to rejoice that our names are written in heaven. (Lk 10:20) Heaven is LIFE! Our names are written in the Book of Life! (Rev 3:5; 13:8; 17:8; 20:12; 20:15; 21:27) Bobby, Bobby, you really were sifted like wheat. (Lk 22:31) Now go strengthen your brothers. (v 32)
Tomorrow (10 Feb 14) is day ten for the archetypal Church of “Smyrna.” (Rev 2:10) Reconciliation with the prophets can happen today (09 Feb 14) and tomorrow we could be enjoying the crown of New Life. But for that to happen the prophets have to break the silence and let the elephant out of the living room. Bobby, I’m on my way to see you. Can we please work things out?
Jesus said, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from Heaven.” (Lk 10:18) Satan has many names. I’ve given up trying to count how many he has. God has many names, too, but each of His names reveals one of His character qualities. Satan’s names just add to the confusion. As long as we’re looking at the canyon of confusion, our eyes are not on Jesus. The elephant then grows bigger, filling the void until it grows so big that it blocks our view from God and each other. The way to defeat Satan and to get the elephant out of the room is with our mouths.
Rev 16:13 And I saw three unclean spirits like frogs coming out of the mouth [!] of the dragon, out of the mouth [!] of the beast, and out of the mouth [!] of the false prophet.
With our mouths we expose the Truth. (cf Rev 16:15) All we can do is show up in the holy Present Moment, try, give it our best, and let the Holy Spirit have His way with us. But we have to try!
Post script: If we’re paying attention and listening to what the Spirit says to the Churches, then Acts 2:42-47 and the Fellowship of Believers is an ever-increasing reality. Message: Yo, Cyrus! (Isa 44:28) Get your marching boots on!

5 After Epiphany 09 Feb 2014 Gospel: Matthew 5:13-20
Isaiah 58:1-9a (9b-12)
58:1 Shout out, do not hold back! Lift up your voice like a trumpet! Announce to my people their rebellion, to the house of Jacob their sins.

58:2 Yet day after day they seek me and delight to know my ways, as if they were a nation that practiced righteousness and did not forsake the ordinance of their God; they ask of me righteous judgments, they delight to draw near to God.

58:3 “Why do we fast, but you do not see? Why humble ourselves, but you do not notice?” Look, you serve your own interest on your fast day, and oppress all your workers.

58:4 Look, you fast only to quarrel and to fight and to strike with a wicked fist. Such fasting as you do today will not make your voice heard on high.

58:5 Is such the fast that I choose, a day to humble oneself? Is it to bow down the head like a bulrush, and to lie in sackcloth and ashes? Will you call this a fast, a day acceptable to the LORD?

58:6 Is not this the fast that I choose: to loose the bonds of injustice, to undo the thongs of the yoke, to let the oppressed go free, and to break every yoke?

58:7 Is it not to share your bread with the hungry, and bring the homeless poor into your house; when you see the naked, to cover them, and not to hide yourself from your own kin?

58:8 Then your light shall break forth like the dawn, and your healing shall spring up quickly; your vindicator shall go before you, the glory of the LORD shall be your rear guard.

58:9a Then you shall call, and the LORD will answer; you shall cry for help, and he will say, Here I am.

58:9b If you remove the yoke from among you, the pointing of the finger, the speaking of evil,

58:10 if you offer your food to the hungry and satisfy the needs of the afflicted, then your light shall rise in the darkness and your gloom be like the noonday.

58:11 The LORD will guide you continually, and satisfy your needs in parched places, and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters never fail.

58:12 Your ancient ruins shall be rebuilt; you shall raise up the foundations of many generations; you shall be called the repairer of the breach, the restorer of streets to live in.

Psalm 112:1-9 (10)
112:1 Praise the LORD! Happy are those who fear the LORD, who greatly delight in his commandments.

112:2 Their descendants will be mighty in the land; the generation of the upright will be blessed.

112:3 Wealth and riches are in their houses, and their righteousness endures forever.

112:4 They rise in the darkness as a light for the upright; they are gracious, merciful, and righteous.

112:5 It is well with those who deal generously and lend, who conduct their affairs with justice.

112:6 For the righteous will never be moved; they will be remembered forever.

112:7 They are not afraid of evil tidings; their hearts are firm, secure in the LORD.

112:8 Their hearts are steady, they will not be afraid; in the end they will look in triumph on their foes.

112:9 They have distributed freely, they have given to the poor; their righteousness endures forever; their horn is exalted in honor.

112:10 The wicked see it and are angry; they gnash their teeth and melt away; the desire of the wicked comes to nothing.

1 Corinthians 2:1-12 (13-16)
2:1 When I came to you, brothers and sisters, I did not come proclaiming the mystery of God to you in lofty words or wisdom.

2:2 For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and him crucified.

2:3 And I came to you in weakness and in fear and in much trembling.

2:4 My speech and my proclamation were not with plausible words of wisdom, but with a demonstration of the Spirit and of power,

2:5 so that your faith might rest not on human wisdom but on the power of God.

2:6 Yet among the mature we do speak wisdom, though it is not a wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are doomed to perish.

2:7 But we speak God’s wisdom, secret and hidden, which God decreed before the ages for our glory.

2:8 None of the rulers of this age understood this; for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.

2:9 But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the human heart conceived, what God has prepared for those who love him”

2:10 these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God.

2:11 For what human being knows what is truly human except the human spirit that is within? So also no one comprehends what is truly God’s except the Spirit of God.

2:12 Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit that is from God, so that we may understand the gifts bestowed on us by God.

2:13 And we speak of these things in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit, interpreting spiritual things to those who are spiritual.

2:14 Those who are unspiritual do not receive the gifts of God’s Spirit, for they are foolishness to them, and they are unable to understand them because they are spiritually discerned.

2:15 Those who are spiritual discern all things, and they are themselves subject to no one else’s scrutiny.

2:16 “For who has known the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.

Matthew 5:13-20
5:13 “You are the salt of the earth; but if salt has lost its taste, how can its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything, but is thrown out and trampled under foot.

5:14 “You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid.

5:15 No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house.

5:16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.

5:17 “Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets; I have come not to abolish but to fulfill.

5:18 For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth pass away, not one letter, not one stroke of a letter, will pass from the law until all is accomplished.

5:19 Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments, and teaches others to do the same, will be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but whoever does them and teaches them will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.

5:20 For I tell you, unless your righteousness exceeds that of the scribes and Pharisees, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”

Leave a Reply

