What Do You See?

16 Dec

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 03 Advent on 15 December 2013
What Do You See?
Question from my best friend: “Is endless, habitual analyzing what stalled people do when they can’t go forward?”
Matthew 11:7 As they went away, Jesus began to speak to the crowds about John: “What did you go out into the wilderness to look at? A reed shaken by the wind?
Gee: “Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?”
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Impossible Mission Objective: Reconciliation of the Prophets and the Churches
Task: Your mission, Kathryn, should you choose to accept it, is to get My people to shift from virtual talking to real engagement.
Results so far: Zip. Nada. More firewalls. We went through these spiritual firewalls three years ago in Advent 2010. Now it’s coming around again. The number Two signifies completion of a cycle. So hitting this second firewall is good news in that we’re approaching closure. But we’re still not there yet.
The only comfort is knowing that God is in control! The tension is thick. To my knowledge, though, in physics a line of tension DOES break! The question is, “How will the tension break?” When tension is created by two forces of equal strength (Church and prophets) then the two forces cancel each other out and they maintain their own equilibrium, so nothing changes and the tension is stabilized. So how will this tension line break? It can only come by God’s INTERVENTION!
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 at 8:24 am Me to my best friend:
I loved what you wrote: “I see you struggle and fight to maintain your faith in the mission. Your strength is endless, your willingness to go on fighting and be leaving [believing] is undaunted . God choose you because you are strong and innocent . I remember when I didn’t think and analyze, I just did. When life was just involvement . I worried, I was scared, I was broken- hearted, I was brave, I was resolute, I was wrong and I was soooo right . I wonder- is the endless analyzing habitual? what stalled people do when they can’t go forward?”
This morning when I got on Facebook I saw that the Elijah List had posted Robert Hotchkin’s piece yesterday, and what he’d written had tied in with this coming Sunday’s gospel lesson, so I nabbed the opportunity to write (yet one more time!):
[To the Elijah List on Facebook:] I’ve been praying and meditating this week through Matthew 11. Jesus told the imprisoned John the Baptist (through his friends/disciples)
Matthew 11:6 “And blessed is anyone who takes no offense at Me.”
We are to take no offense at Him. I found the wording surprising. It also follows what Robert Hotchkin prays: “We will be a people who are unoffendable. That no matter how we are treated, we will refuse offense and continue to love.”
I believe there are at least two parts to “bearing fruit worthy of repentance” (Mt 3:8): 1) remaining in sanctified detachment (ie, taking no offense), and 2) Go and Tell. (Mt 11:4) Telling others what we hear and see God doing builds encouragement and community, so that we are not a reed shaken by the wind. (v 7) The ones in the spiritual “storms” of learning how not to take offense need encouragement and to know what God is doing, because inside a storm, the believer only has his own faith to go on. And that can be scary. That can often be very isolating. Isolation causes, germinates, and breeds Doubt. (v 3) In my personal journey I have thrived by asking God to show me how He’s answered my prayers and fulfilled prophecy. And I move forward by trying; not by waiting in stagnation for a pre-conceived answer, but by listening to His leadership while keeping the mission in mind. My mission is reconciliation! ~k
Maybe you’re right. Maybe over-analyzing is a part of trauma. Did I traumatize them? Or is that question egocentric in itself? These people God sent me to seem to be stalled in endless, habitual, analyzing and they can’t go forward, breaking the barrier from virtual to real. Still no engagement from anyone! I even wrote Doug Addison about being present at his event in Ventura on Saturday evening. No reaction. Not even, “Well, good, we’ll start the bonfire before you get here, so by the time we burn you at the stake, you won’t feel a thing from the intense heat! We’ll bring the hotdogs and marshmallows. You just show up. We’ve got plenty of firewood. …” On the energetic front, there are times when I can feel a palpable pillow of grace, openness, nurture, loving-kindness, and welcome. I relish those times! Then I am absolutely assaulted by a spirit of Contempt that is ugly beyond words. And still I am held in this prison of silence while the Church and the prophets do…Nothing! Until both sides confess that God was right, we will be stuck in this loop. It is as simple as that.
I still haven’t written my Reflection for this coming Sunday. I had a few thoughts stay and play in my mind yesterday, but I have no motivation to pick up the pen. I didn’t even journal yesterday! How does one stay motivated when the ones God sent me to don’t care? I get it; God sent me on an Impossible Mission. That’s His M.O. Well, He can have them! They can analyze me, God, this mission, their sins, my cajones, their assumptions on my motivations, their assumptions on God’s goodness, and all the whole mountain of shit. God can have it! It’s too big for me. So Fine! God can have it all! Fine! I let it go! I let it all go……………………….! I am “stalled into motionless hell!” It feels just like you said: hogtied. If I move, the rope tightens. I cannot fight, or run; although I do interject because I cannot shut up. (I wonder if that is a “gift” of being a prophet? Or a woman?)
Maybe that’s the only way for this journey to go from virtual to real?
I join your words: “I get to think what I want. I get to hunger for what i want. I get to set the value point on what is important for me. He can judge but I don’t care. I DON”T CARE! I am awake and I am.”
YES! I AM AWAKE AND I AM! I WANT EMERSION!
I, too, love them. I will take care of them. I will watch over their spirit and Body, but I will take care of me.
Mine, too: “There is no quiet of the tomb where my spirit lives. It smells of life and is dirty, beautiful, dangerous, safe, painful, heart- expanding, warmth; it is amazing and filled with excitement, sometime wanton, sometimes sweet; it is never in bondage, and never, never numb .”
And so it is!
Can you play today? ~k
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 Journal:
“What did you go out into the wilderness to look at?” (Mt 11:7)
“What then did you go out to see?” (v 8)
“What then did you go out to see?” (v 9)
How can we see a message of Good News which we cannot “hear”?
‘See [!], I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’ (v 10)
I remember from the cobwebs of my brain somewhere that someone said a Seer can prophetically “see” and a Prophet can prophetically “hear.” And the messenger? Irrelevant. It’s the Message that’s important, not the messenger.
O self, what do you “see”? I “see” through hearing. Most often I “hear” the spiritual realm and then put words to it to describe what I “hear” so others can “see” it through my words. No one has laid hands on this and acknowledged this as a gift. Many have wanted to lay hands on me to throttle me, but I have not seen that as a gift! It is much better to celebrate gifts, don’tcha think? Blessed is he who does what the Holy Spirit says!
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 at 5 pm Journal: The Old Testament Reading for 03 Advent:
Isaiah 35:1 The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad, the desert shall rejoice and blossom; like the crocus …
“Dry land shall be glad.”
Hmmm…
After the flood rains stopped, Noah sent out a raven. (Gen 8:7) and then later a dove. (v 8) The dove could find no place to rest on dry land so it came back to Noah. (v 9) A week later he sent out the dove again. (v 10) This time the dove returned with a freshly picked olive leaf. (v 11) A week after that Noah sent out the dove and this time it did not return. (v 12) The dry land was glad (Isa 35:1) and the dove got her freedom. That day Noah lost a friend in the dove and gained a paradise. Sometimes when we let Love go it comes back to us more mature, and sometimes it goes on to seek its own life.
I was thinking about this today. In every deep relationship I’ve had in my life, I’ve reached a point where I’ve had to let the other go, not in anger, manipulation, fear, or inverse need, but from a space of genuine release. I let the other go to find their way on their own terms. Sometimes the other came back and sometimes the other didn’t. In the interim there was a type of longing – what’s the word? – missing?, but there was no anguish, because I had released the other in love and my heart was given grace to create open space for the other to choose to stay or choose to go.
Today I choose to respectfully let the prophets and the Churches go. I release you to be you and me to be me. A relationship is real. Our relationship is real. A relationship goes three ways. We have a communication void. Nature abhors a vacuum, so I know that whatever you choose, God will fill the space with His Love and Goodness. I hold out my heart and hands in love. My love never left you. I was honest with you. I was real with you. I was both tickled at times and exasperated by you at other times. By grace, I kept my sense of humor when that’s all I had left, and still I loved you. I love you enough to let you go to choose if you want a relationship with me. My door is open. I’ll leave the Light on for you.
Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 8:52 AM From Fr David again: subject: RE: You Can Be a Carrier of His Fire!
Let me know if you should ever want to get together for coffee.
Fr. David
Thursday, December 12, 2013 at 9:40 am Me to Fr David: Thank you, Fr David. The desire to get together for coffee is still there. I am also on a mission of reconciliation. So I’m wondering if you’d care to join me at the New Wine House of Prayer to meet Doug Addison on Saturday evening. I’ve never met Doug in person, but his words ring true. Check him out on Facebook. This is from the flyer: …
There are times when we have to shift our awareness, and I think we could all take this sound advice to heart:
“Watch for a change of viewpoint. You will have to do some listening to grasp all that is happening.” (Doug Addison, 12 Dec 13)
Even those who don’t buy into the prophetic can benefit from a change in viewpoint.
In any case, I’ll be there Saturday night, and I extend a hand in invitation for you to join me if you wish. ~k
Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 10:32 AM From Fr David; subject: Re: You Can Be a Carrier of His Fire!
Sounds interesting and I hope you find it to be a good expression of how god is speaking to you. Unfortunately, I can not join you on Saturday evening as I have a previous engagement. Do let me know how it goes
Fr David
Friday, December 13, 2013 at 8:18 am in an attachment (and again at 10:30 am: God, communication should not be this hard!) I took my piece “Noah and the Dove” and framed it around the question “What do you see?” and sent it to Sandie Freed.
Today: Friday, December 13, 2013 [Another redemptive Golgotha Friday?]
From: Kathryn Hauser
To: Sandie Freed
Declaration: My God, THIS IS REAL!
Dear Sandie Freed:
I send you my weekly Reflections, so I believe you know me through my writings.
I trust your prophetic sight. In an attempt to be on healthy watch and to guard my mission of reconciliation in a balanced, mature way, I am sharing this week with you. You said:
“We are being divinely positioned to obtain unlimited access to hidden mysteries. However, if we are not on guard, unbelief will negate our faith for the supernatural suddenlies and breakthroughs God has planned for each of us.” (“God Is Holding an Open Book”, Elijah List, 12 Dec 13)
Please tell me: ‘What do you see?’ (Mt 11:7) …
Do you see reconciliation here? What do you see?
I see more stagnation.
Can you help? I bless you. Is your way sufficiently prepared before you? (Mt 11:10)
~Kathryn
[Received silence.]
Friday, December 13, 2013 at 11:12 am Doug Addison posted a song by Johnny Nash, “I Can See Clearly Now” (1973)
Saturday, December 14, 2013 at 6:46 am Yesterday I saw that Doug Addison had posted his December word on Facebook: “New Creative Flow From Heaven” (12 Dec 13)
Dear Doug, You said people got healed by God’s power of the Holy Spirit without anyone laying hands on them. I would like to contribute that there are times (as described in scripture) when it is necessary to lay hands on to acknowledge God’s spiritual gifts in another, so that all may give glory to God and celebrate. Healing itself comes through this public display of laying on of hands; not so much for the individual, but for the people’s sake, and giving back to God in gratitude for what He gave us. In my journey the laying on of hands never took place. As you said, the spiritual gifts could not move freely in churches. Are you open to partnering with God tonight in Ventura and laying hands on me to unleash the movement of the Holy Spirit as God directs? ~k
Saturday, December 14, 2013 at 11:15 am Journal: A life principal for us women is: “The better you make your husband look, the better you look.” Is this another dimension of “take no offense” (Mt 11:6)?
Lord, You are my “Husband” by mystical marriage. I see You trying in every way possible to communicate Your provision and Good News message. You have asked us to do the same. Help me to make You look good through my being as I partner with You into our day. I don’t know what I will see today, but last night I know You started a fresh prayer within me:
“I breathe Love into the rock to shatter it.”
In my mind’s eye I had shifted from visualizing “rolling the stone away” (all the “stones” of every thought, feeling, memory, awareness, and assumption that surfaced) to actually shattering the spiritual “meteorite shower” into dust by blessing it with Love. Lord, You have already provided a “highway” called the Holy Way (Isa 35:8) in this wilderness. You really have prepared the way (Mt 11:10) and all You’ve asked us to do is to remember Your mercy. (Lk 1:54) Help me to be like Mary in her Magnifikat (Lk 1:46-55) as her soul magnified the Lord. (v 46) I know I am a far cry from my sweet Mother-in-Law, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to be like her, or at least have some of her Spirit. I just want to make You look good, Jesus. Help me to step out of Your way so that we all can get on Your Holy Way (Isa 35:8). Amen.
Saturday, December 14, 2013 at 9:30 pm Journal: There was no laying on of hands at Doug’s gathering, but the crowd passed around hugs. Doug has some exciting programs and ministries, especially in loving those who have been hurt by the Church. His word is fresh! I bless him.
Sunday, December 15, 2013 at 4:23 am I survived a night of food poisoning from left-overs. I worked on editing the draft of this Reflection for an hour and went back to bed. It didn’t get done.
Monday, December 16, 2013 at 4:26 am I slept pretty much for twenty-four hours. Lord, is this how You helped me to step out of Your way?
Matthew 11:6 And blessed is anyone who takes no offense at Me.”

03 Advent 15 December 2013 Gospel: Matthew 11:2-11
Isaiah 35:1-10
35:1 The wilderness and the dry land shall be glad, the desert shall rejoice and blossom; like the crocus

35:2 it shall blossom abundantly, and rejoice with joy and singing. The glory of Lebanon shall be given to it, the majesty of Carmel and Sharon. They shall see the glory of the LORD, the majesty of our God.

35:3 Strengthen the weak hands, and make firm the feeble knees.

35:4 Say to those who are of a fearful heart, “Be strong, do not fear! Here is your God. He will come with vengeance, with terrible recompense. He will come and save you.”

35:5 Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf unstopped;

35:6 then the lame shall leap like a deer, and the tongue of the speechless sing for joy. For waters shall break forth in the wilderness, and streams in the desert;

35:7 the burning sand shall become a pool, and the thirsty ground springs of water; the haunt of jackals shall become a swamp, the grass shall become reeds and rushes.

35:8 A highway shall be there, and it shall be called the Holy Way; the unclean shall not travel on it, but it shall be for God’s people; no traveler, not even fools, shall go astray.

35:9 No lion shall be there, nor shall any ravenous beast come up on it; they shall not be found there, but the redeemed shall walk there.

35:10 And the ransomed of the LORD shall return, and come to Zion with singing; everlasting joy shall be upon their heads; they shall obtain joy and gladness, and sorrow and sighing shall flee away.

Psalm 146:5-10
146:5 Happy are those whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the LORD their God,

146:6 who made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them; who keeps faith forever;

146:7 who executes justice for the oppressed; who gives food to the hungry. The LORD sets the prisoners free;

146:8 the LORD opens the eyes of the blind. The LORD lifts up those who are bowed down; the LORD loves the righteous.

146:9 The LORD watches over the strangers; he upholds the orphan and the widow, but the way of the wicked he brings to ruin.

146:10 The LORD will reign forever, your God, O Zion, for all generations. Praise the LORD!

Luke 1:46b-55
1:46b My soul magnifies the Lord,

1:47 and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,

1:48 for he has looked with favor on the lowliness of his servant. Surely, from now on all generations will call me blessed;

1:49 for the Mighty One has done great things for me, and holy is his name.

1:50 His mercy is for those who fear him from generation to generation.

1:51 He has shown strength with his arm; he has scattered the proud in the thoughts of their hearts.

1:52 He has brought down the powerful from their thrones, and lifted up the lowly;

1:53 he has filled the hungry with good things, and sent the rich away empty.

1:54 He has helped his servant Israel, in remembrance of his mercy,

1:55 according to the promise he made to our ancestors, to Abraham and to his descendants forever.”

James 5:7-10
5:7 Be patient, therefore, beloved, until the coming of the Lord. The farmer waits for the precious crop from the earth, being patient with it until it receives the early and the late rains.

5:8 You also must be patient. Strengthen your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is near.

5:9 Beloved, do not grumble against one another, so that you may not be judged. See, the Judge is standing at the doors!

5:10 As an example of suffering and patience, beloved, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord.

Matthew 11:2-11
11:2 When John heard in prison what the Messiah was doing, he sent word by his disciples

11:3 and said to him, “Are you the one who is to come, or are we to wait for another?”

11:4 Jesus answered them, “Go and tell John what you hear and see:

11:5 the blind receive their sight, the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the poor have good news brought to them.

11:6 And blessed is anyone who takes no offense at me.”

11:7 As they went away, Jesus began to speak to the crowds about John: “What did you go out into the wilderness to look at? A reed shaken by the wind?

11:8 What then did you go out to see? Someone dressed in soft robes? Look, those who wear soft robes are in royal palaces.

11:9 What then did you go out to see? A prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet.

11:10 This is the one about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you.’

11:11 Truly I tell you, among those born of women no one has arisen greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he.

Leave a Reply

