The Deep Knowing

17 Nov

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 26 After Pentecost 17 November 2013
The Deep Knowing
Luke 21:13 This will give you an opportunity to testify.
I sat with the gospel lessons for the longest time just holding them in open space before the Lord and waiting for Him to reveal the fresh and the New. My head knows the scriptures but my heart had to catch up to what God was saying. Plus, I had to shut up. My Monkey Mind went through a spell of playing on its own jungle gym and chattering away as if there was no tomorrow. After all Isaiah 65:17 does say,
Isa 65:17 For I am about to create new heavens and a new earth; the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind.
So my Monkey Mind decided to use the opportunity to run down every ally in Memory Lane just to make sure I wouldn’t forget even though God said otherwise. Jesus had said that the end would not follow immediately. (Lk 21:9) Well, I was glad to hear that, as Monkey Mind had to explore under every rock and had much work to do. And St Paul had said:
2 Thes 3:11 For we hear that some of you are living in idleness, mere busybodies, not doing any work.
As I was taking this trip down Memory Lane, the quarterly bulletin from Mount Calvary Monastery in Santa Barbara showed up in the mail. In a small section there was a note saying that the monastery was too busy to make monthly retreat days, so they were setting up three-day quarterly retreats. My guts sent up red flares. I wrote the monastery:
Sun, Nov 10, 2013 at 7:52 AM
Dear Mount Calvary Monastery,
I do so appreciate your quarterly newsletters. Thank you! Congratulations on being able to purchase the property from the Sisters of the Holy Nativity!
In my quiet time with the Lord, I was reflecting on our collective Odyssey. In 2007 my own personal journey had crashed and in my quest to “find myself” again, the Lord had led me to Mount Calvary (pre-fire). In my old life back then I had only known my life through a lens of the Hard Work Ethic, and before I had my mystical marriage in Christ on 14 May 2008, I had only known the concept of Sabbath Rest as a rule (Ex 20:8) and not as a Play Day set apart just for God and me to have play interwoven weekly into my lifestyle.
As I was taking this trip down Memory Lane I vividly remembered being at the old Mount Calvary on the hill and being surprised by two conflicting spirits at war on the grounds: one was a beautiful, peaceful, Serenity; and the other was a crackly energy of tyrannical Busy-ness. At the time I didn’t know the name of this spirit called “Hard Work!” It’s not the same spirit as working in the Divine Flow where much work gets accomplished efficiently by His grace [with our participation]. This Hard Work spirit is grinding and relentless, even punishing, and is driven by feelings of unworthiness, but slaves under the guise of “working hard for the Lord.” I didn’t know about this tyrannical spirit at the time – or maybe better said, my guts knew this spirit, but I didn’t know Rest in the Lord yet, so I had no comparison with which to base and evaluate and name the new I was experiencing.
The reason I bring this up now, is that my guts raised an eyebrow of concern when I read in your newsletter:
“SILENT RETREATS
Our practice requires retreat days. Normally these happen once a month, but they often get lost in the business of things. Instead we have decided to try three days of retreat quarterly.”
If the monastery is too busy being busy for the Lord to make a once-a-month retreat, then it will not take long before a three day quarterly retreat gets wedged out. And it will all happen innocuously and subtly. I confess, I have not been up to your new facility, so I don’t know in person how the community is fairing, and all I have is the spirit of discernment, but I do trust my gift. I offer you my gift and ask you to take it to the Lord and see what He says.
I love you. I love you so much I had to say something.
~Kathryn Hauser
Reflections blog site: https://truthinus.wordpress.com/
[Sigh.]
Does this letter mean I am an idle busybody? (2 Thess 3:11)
I immediately got a boomeranged message from the email server saying, “Relay Access Denied.” So I went on to their website and sent the letter through ‘Contact Us.’
This same gift of discernment in my guts was telling me that nothing would come of this attempt at engagement with the Anglicans without outside intervention. The “Relay Access” has consistently been denied me in this Odyssey. To this day I still have no idea who is sharing what I write with whom, if anything. I catch a lot of “Arc Speak,” a phrase I coined to describe the messages and words of what the leaders are hearing through the Holy Spirit, but I still have no real contact. I am just the Physician’s Assistant (spiritually speaking.) And I am still up against strongholds. Sometimes strongholds can be prayed away from a distance. (Lk 7:1-10) In other cases Jesus had to come in contact with the person. (ie, Lk 8:43-48) And even when He took the little girl by the hand and said, “My child, get up!” (v 54) He also had to say to the crowd He went through, “Stop wailing; she is not dead but asleep!” These words apply to the Church, too. The Church is not “dead” but “asleep.” Stop wailing! [O, do shut up!] The Church is still operating out of the spirit of Hard Work, which feeds right into “That’s the way we’ve always done it!” It boils down to this: St Paul told us not to be idle (2 Thes 3:6-13) and the Church made this her idol. Now I’m also wondering if the Church might have subconsciously further lumped prayer into the Idleness Basket in assuming that prayer which is intimate and solitary could be seen as “Idle” by them and therefore they used this falsehood as reason to affirm a lack of signs and wonders as proof that somehow I wasn’t a prophet. Did you catch that convoluted logic?
Mt 24:24 For false messiahs and false prophets will appear and perform great signs and wonders to deceive, if possible, even the elect.
As Bobby Conner had said, “God gives the signs and we wonder!” The Church knew my calling was real. But they expected soooooo much:
Haggai 1: 9 “You expected much, but see, it turned out to be little. What you brought home, I blew away. Why?” declares the LORD Almighty. “Because of my house, which remains a ruin, while each of you is busy with your own house.
Twelve hours after I had written Mount Calvary I had journaled one little note in the margin of my paper:
Sun, Nov 10, 2013 at 7:50 pm Journal: I feel today like God has cinched up a VERY tight corset around my being from my guts to my chest. It’s terribly uncomfortable! He promised it won’t last.
[What was I experiencing? It was oddly familiar, but I couldn’t identify it. Something had happened (or not happened) between 7:52 am and when I made that note at 7:50 pm. I’m not clairvoyant, so I don’t know.]
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 Journal: Now I know why I felt like I was wearing a tight corset on Sunday. The spirit of the python has tightened his grip today.
[My head knew the Holy Spirit was leading, but my heart could only feel the crush of the anaconda.]
Friday, November 15, 2013 at 6:50 am I wrote Steve Shultz of the Elijah List regarding a word he’d written two days earlier on “Character vs. Gifting”:
Dear Steve,
You are so interwoven into my prayers that I feel you are like my brother (whom I love very much). I hear your tones and feel your moods. I see your heart and it is beautiful. And I rejoice that our gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. (Ro 11:29) I took to heart what you wrote Wednesday in “Character vs Gifting.” I breathed and prayed through it for two days. I really didn’t disagree with either the original “Debugging Q & A – Character vs. Gifting” or the official retraction.
I offer you my perspective. You said, “Too many Believers want the recognition in a public forum before they’ve been tested through “tribulation and perseverance” which brings about “proven character” so needful in the Kingdom of God.” There is a Time component in this statement. Time is valuable. God values our Time, and Gifts, and Character. I see maturity in ministry as not necessarily having to do with time in the field, but time with the Lord. I see it as having to do with God’s plan, design, and His execution of it, which is also what you talked about. Because of the nature of my calling, Time is not the primary lens through which I view life. We examine (test) ourselves (2 Corinthians 13: 5) through the lens of God’s holiness under the Blood of Jesus Christ by the Power of the Holy Spirit, (which is also what you said.) It really is similar to your statement in the original “Debugging Q & A” where you were describing the growing of both character AND gifting:
“So, it’s like saying God values Marriage over being Holy. One is not related to the other. Both are clearly true.”
If I may expand from your statement: Through God’s ministry of Grace we bring His holiness into the marriage. When a marriage falls on the rocks, Time is irrelevant in the spiritual schema (not so in the legal system, but that’s a different arena.) Gifts are brought into the marriage. Gifts can be both a blessing and a curse and can be used to either strengthen the marriage or destroy it depending on how they are used, which then draws back to character. Character is the anchor for the gifts, just as God’s character anchors us with our gifts. Using our gifts without anchoring in God’s character sets the stage for bitter jealousies, selfish ambitions, arrogance, and lies against the truth. (James 3:14) This is why it is critical to spend time with the Lord. The gifts are still there. They are irrevocable. (Ro 11:29) Time with the Lord tempers our character and then we can share the gifts in gentleness of wisdom. (James 3:13)
Just as some people enter into marriage too quickly, some leaders enter into public ministry too quickly. (1 Tim 5:22) And, likewise, some public ministry leaders who have been in the field a very long time, are still trying to cover up scandalous shames and sins committed years ago and now there are calluses formed over the sins making the wounds crusty and perpetuating the hurt of multiple parties. (ref “Retraction”)
I agree with you that when a public ministry leader has fallen that mature leaders walk that person back to wholeness and repentance. (Mt 18:17) You said, “This restoration process is normally overseen by a person’s own local fellowship, normally by the pastoral team!” Now, still looking at this through the lens of Marriage, this is like the couple going into Marriage Counseling. Using myself as an example, I can say that the Holy Spirit is like my Marriage Counselor. By mystical marriage, I am married to Jesus. God married us. When I reach a rough spot with Jesus and I can’t hear or understand Him, the Holy Spirit is my Counselor.
Isa 40:13 Who has directed the Spirit of the LORD,
or as His counselor has instructed Him?
The “great cloud of witnesses” (Heb 12:1) and the saints who have gone before us are my “local fellowship” and pastoral team.
Wisdom 18:9 For in secret the holy children of good people offered sacrifices,
and with one accord agreed to the divine law,
so that the saints would share alike the same things,
both blessings and dangers;
and already they were singing the praises of the ancestors.
Sure, I honor what the prophets and pastors say. I also listen below what they are saying on the surface. How do I do that? I believe it is one of the benefits from the gift of celibacy. “How’s that?” you may ask. Because celibacy channels the energies back to God and off of self and others. It frees up hearing space to hear God. It frees up heart space to feel God. It focuses devotion on God. In a big way the Catholic Church understands this dynamic better than any other group. If I were to give a homework assignment, I would tell the prophets AND their spouses to go to their local Catholic churches just to interview a priest, so that they could get a clearer understanding of this gift. If I could make a comparison: Celibacy is to Marriage as black Notes on paper are to Music. It is both structure and counterpoint. It makes no less (or more) music than marriage in the traditional sense. It is simply singular devotion to the score and allows for creative improv within the structure. Going outside the structure makes for discordance. The Churches went outside God’s structures and this made for discordance. I ask gently: Why do you think Revelation 17 talks about the Harlot and the Beast, but God does not describe the Woman up against the Dragon in Revelation 12 the same way?
So, Steve, when I write you (or any one else) please know that I’m not just pouring my heart out as some crazed sheep pounding on the religious glass ceiling, like a fly buzzing a window pane. From my point of view the ministry leaders ARE my pastoral team. The restoration process of my own local fellowship will happen when the prophets go into the Church and neutralize the poison of the religious spirit, just as Bob Jones talked about. (12 Nov 13 “Poison Gourds”) So, when and where are the prophets going to gather in agreement in unity for the common purpose of the Church? (ibid.) My intentions are not on “public” ministry (in the traditional sense of the word) but to minister to the ministers as the Lord leads. This also makes the gift of celibacy that much more valuable, because this way the ministers know the message is pure. And Bob Jones did say, “We need to have a more sure word of prophecy being poured out from purified vessels.” (ibid.)
~Kathryn
[Sigh.]
I must confess that I felt dumbfounded when I read this week’s lectionary readings from Isaiah 65:17-25 about how God is about to create new heavens and a new earth (v 17), and that the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind. (v 17) From the Institution’s point of view, what’s to remember? Nothing’s coming to their mind anyway. So what’s new? “That’s the way we’ve always done it!” Again, from inside the stronghold there is no forward movement. I heard nothing back from the monastery or the prophets. Does this mean for them, that even the “new wineskin” is just a façade for the old whine? (Mt 9:17) For the New to break through it must come from the outside. I cannot leave the Institution (because God sent me to them.) But the prophets have the capacity to make a collective voice and to engage one receptive Anglican (or Catholic or “Ephesus” or someone (?)) on my behalf. I am a prophetic seer whether or not this has been acknowledged. The Church is oppressed under a vice grip Stronghold and is not going to acknowledge anything. Diddley. Nada. She can’t. She’ll “wake up” later, but she can’t right now. The Good News has to come around the back door. And that’s ok. It is merciful. But waiting at the front doors and knocking and knocking just makes for more bloody knuckles.
And still…
None of this was new news. I’ve shared all this before. I was on the quest for the Fresh. Pretty soon I got tired of chasing my Monkey Mind like a child on the playground and just observed her like a parent on a park bench. To my surprise “Monkey” stopped at a memory rooted at the beginning of this journey. My mom was still alive. We were sitting in the living room, Mom was on the sofa and I was on the love seat. Mom took a deep breath as if trying to breathe in courage. Then she shared a story she’d held on to for a good twenty years without saying anything, about how I had embarrassed her in my college days in front of her friends. I just listened. By this time in my spiritual walk, I had spent enough time listening to Jesus, that I didn’t have the need to prepare my own defense. (Lk 21:14) I didn’t need to be defensive. I felt secure in my relationship with Him now, so I had heart-mind space to face what I couldn’t have faced before. (v 16) And I guess I was safer and more mature now, so that Mom felt the courage she needed in order to finally say something. (v 18)
I said to her, “I’m sorry to have put you in that position! Please forgive me. I couldn’t see then what I see now. I’m so sorry.”
Mom took in another deep breath, this time with racks of relief washing over her like silent sobs and she nodded.
I went over to her, hugged her for a long time, and we both cried. It was a deep and cathartic experience. Peace then wrapped the house like a blanket.
A few months later Mom died. But our relationship didn’t. (v 19) I keep her essence with me in my heart.
I wondered why “Monkey” stopped at this particular memory. What was the common thread from then to today? The contrast between the earlier mind chatter and now suddenly the wonder as “Monkey” stopped and stared at this memory like a gemstone in her hand, was clearly an indicator (sign?) that God was showing me something, and I needed to pay attention. (v 7) Even though this was nothing new, it was a stepping stone leading me in the direction of the New through this spiritual fog and crush.
In a flash of insight I understood. I had done with the Churches what I had done with Mom. I had embarrassed the Churches in front of her friends. Please forgive me. I couldn’t see then what I see now. I am sorry.
Next week’s lectionary Gospel selection takes us to the Place of the Skull. (Lk 23:33)
[Sigh.]
[And meanwhile there was a counter-swirl taking place:]
Bob Jones had said on Tuesday (12 Nov 13):
“Once meal [“a symbol of God’s healing power”] is thrown into the cooking pot [which has death in the stew–2 Kings 4] and the religious spirit dealt with, the Body will heal and come together in corporate love, koinonia.”
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 5:15 am Journal: The wretched thing is, is that I don’t know if they think that I am the poison gourd or the healing meal? The religious spirit is still crushing me! It feels no different than the “python crushes” of before. The big python crush was identified a year ago on 05 November 2012 where Kim Clement and I shared the same vision and I wrote him about that. I also shared “Confer a Kingdom” with Kim on 21 March 13 and with Fr David on 11 April 13. Don’t they get it yet that what we go through is then repeated outwardly like ripples in a pond? Church and society will feel the effects of this crush, too, unless it is nipped in the bud. If the python crush was a year ago and then repeated after Easter and is cycling around again just before Advent all because of inaction, you’d think they’d wake up to the fact that these ‘Petes and Repeats’ are wake up calls to address the real issue! And there’s still no indication that they see me as fiend or friend. (Rev 3: 15 …Oh, that you were either cold or hot; one or the other!)
And to top it all off when I got home last night, there on the corner of the table where I get my mail was an envelope marked:
APOSTOLIC NUNCIATURE
3339 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20008, USA
At first I thought it was political junkmail. I almost didn’t open it. Then I did. Inside there was a 3 ¼” x 5” color photograph of Pope Francis. On the back in black ink someone had written “Francesco 13 marzo 2013.” When did I write Pope Francis begging him, “Please get me out of Solitary Confinement!!”? I just looked back in the Timeline. I had written the pope on the first day of Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) on 13 Sept 13 and then also incorporated my letter to him into the special Reflection “Atonement Through the Children” for Saturday, September 14, 2013 for both the Feast Day of the Holy Cross AND Yom Kippur. Today it feels like this spirit (not Francis) is mocking me. It’s been two months to the day and still no one (outside my best friend and my Dad) will even touch me, one human being to another. No one will write me just to get to know me. No one will even acknowledge my existence let alone see me as a gift. How’s a girl supposed to live on Appreciation Vapors? I had used the phrase “virtual friends and pray-ers” in my letter “Laodicean spirit” to Jim Goll and Bobby Conner and it is true.
Lord Jesus, You said that You were going to make a new heaven and a new earth. I’m awfully glad that You will be doing that because I cannot take any more!
Lord, take us deeper!
[Sigh.]
On the upshot, there is one thing that I have noticed this week. There is an increase in people being able to identify their own internal place of Deep Knowing and how to distinguish that place from Omen Knowing. These are two distinct places. Omen Knowing comes from the place of superstition. Sometimes it is accurate and sometimes it is not. Often it is fear based. Deep Knowing goes deep into the core, abides with great wisdom, is anchored in relationship with God, and there are times when it feels like it is liquid peace swirling and flowing steadily like lava from this sacred space deep inside one’s self. It flows with love of self and others in relationship with God. The triangle of relationship is balanced. It is honored. It is a place of assured Love that sees the wars and insurrections (Lk 21:9) and yet knows the end will not immediately follow. (v 9) It sees nation rising against nation and kingdom against kingdom (v 11) and still abides in Love and sees global outreach in times of crisis. Kingdoms and nations do rise to aid those in need and who are humble and willing to receive. (In contrast, there are countries that are too proud to receive assistance.) Deep Knowing sees great typhoons, earthquakes, famines, plagues, portents, and signs from heaven (v 11) and still abides in Love. The Place of Deep Knowing has already experienced the arrest of fears and persecutions because of Christ’s Name (v 12) and has stood before tyrants, kings, and governors (v 12) of minutiae and monsters both, and knows Who matters. The Place of Deep Knowing can testify to Christ’s Great Grace and rises to the opportunity (v 13) because it is already secure in that deep lava-like place of peace and wisdom. It doesn’t have to plan its defense ahead of time (v 14), because it doesn’t come from a core worldview of attack and defend. It comes from a worldview of joy and relationship at its foundation, and will defend her cubs to keep them safe from harm. Those worldviews are different anchor points. This place of security is not necessarily secure in itself, but is secure in relationship with God, so there is no need to prepare a defense in advance. (v 14) It shows up to the Holy Present Moment. And isn’t the whole point: that we show up to grow up?
Just riding the Wave, Lord! Got a surfboard? …
[Sigh.]
I was thinking deeper about all this in relation to the general “they” called Church. The Lectionary Barons selected 2 Thessalonians 3:6-13 for the New Testament reading. St Paul warns the early Church against living in idleness, being merely busybodies, and not doing any work. (v 11) Now according to my NIV notes (p 1829), this letter of Paul’s was penned probably in AD 51 or 52. The first persecutions of the Christians took place under Nero in AD 67. Jesus’ prophecy of the destruction of the Temple (Lk 21:6) was fulfilled in AD 70. Scholars estimate that John wrote the Book of Revelation on the Isle of Patmos probably around AD 95. Are you following this rapid progression? Fear of God put a fire where fear of man cannot go. The Church spread. In those last 25 years of the Church (AD 70-95) she clearly already intimately understood Jesus’ words from today’s Gospel lesson. She clearly already intimately understood Paul’s warning against laziness and snoopervision. Then in Revelation Jesus tells the Seven Churches often that He knows their deeds. (Rev 2:2, 2:19, 2:23, 3:1, 3:2, 3:8, 3:15) But I don’t see anywhere, where He is upset with us for being idle. He does say we can rest in the Lord:
Rev 13 Then I heard a voice from heaven say, “Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.”
“Yes,” says the Spirit, “they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.”
Jesus gets upset with us for being lukewarm (3:16) – YES! – but being lukewarm is not the same as idleness. If anything, I see the lukewarm apathy arising out of the Institution’s industry. She was so successful that she didn’t need God. (v 17) So, in essence, the Church ended up taking St Paul’s words to heart and following his command to not live in idleness. (2 Thess 3:6) But, in her eagerness to obey Paul and be an imitator of him, (– twice! — in verses 7 and v 9!), the Church got a double whammy and made Idle an idol. She overcompensated. Did she also make Paul an idol?
Just a question…
Q: Was a lifestyle of prayer then also seen as Idleness and shunned, because it doesn’t look like one is being productive when one is praying, and Paul said that if anyone is unwilling to work then he should not eat? (v 10) Just a thought…
Q: If the recipients of the loving, passionate prayers are still looking for signs and still wondering over the signs and wonders, then who’s looking at God Who is offering the signs and is The Wonder? If the prayers are being answered for the recipients of the prayers, but if the recipients are too busy to notice that the prayers are being answered, does that mean that these are idle prayers? Just a thought…
We are commanded and exhorted in the Lord Jesus Christ (2 Thes 3:12) to do our work quietly and to earn our own living. (v 12) How does one earn a living from prayer if it is not seen as a gift to the glory of God and the benefit of others? Just a thought…
I’m not contradicting Paul or Jesus. I’m just wondering…
At the risk of droning, I keep coming back to the fact that God said He is about to create new heavens and a new earth where the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind. (Isa 65:17) He admonishes us to be glad and to rejoice forever in what He is creating. (v 18) Jerusalem will be as a joy (v 18) and its people as a delight. (v 18) God Himself will rejoice in Jerusalem and delight in His people. (v 19) No sounds of weeping. (v 19) No cries of distress. (v 19) Life! (v 20) Habitation! (v 21) Fruit! (v 21) No slavery! (v 22) What a concept! God says, “My chosen shall long enjoy the work of their hands.” (v 22) (I really don’t think He’s talking about Elitism right here!) Our descendants will be blessed! (v 23) Oooohhh…lookie here…!
Isaiah 65:24 Before they call I will answer, while they are yet speaking I will hear.
That sounds like answers to prayer! Ah, the relationship continues…
The sly wolf, the innocent lamb, the courageous lion, the steadfast ox, the dust-eating serpent shall not hurt or destroy God’s Holy Mountain, says the Lord! (v 25) Is that not cool!?
Lord, honor our prayers on Your Holy Mount! Julian of Norwich (b 1342) wrote a prayer to celebrate the divine flow of grace in the Eucharistic dance through the depths and yearnings of our brokenness. Joy is the last in the sequence of Julian’s Litany. These prayerful building blocks are a standard that has gone before us and brings in a new anointing which is available to us in every season of the Spirit:
1) Simplicity,
2) Confidence,
3) Trust,
4) Hope,
5) Joy!
Ah, I see. We are coming full circle in an Alpha and Omega growth cycle. Hallelujah!

26 After Pentecost 17 Nov 2013 Gospel: Luke 21:5-19
Isaiah 65:17-25
65:17 For I am about to create new heavens and a new earth; the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind.

65:18 But be glad and rejoice forever in what I am creating; for I am about to create Jerusalem as a joy, and its people as a delight.

65:19 I will rejoice in Jerusalem, and delight in my people; no more shall the sound of weeping be heard in it, or the cry of distress.

65:20 No more shall there be in it an infant that lives but a few days, or an old person who does not live out a lifetime; for one who dies at a hundred years will be considered a youth, and one who falls short of a hundred will be considered accursed.

65:21 They shall build houses and inhabit them; they shall plant vineyards and eat their fruit.

65:22 They shall not build and another inhabit; they shall not plant and another eat; for like the days of a tree shall the days of my people be, and my chosen shall long enjoy the work of their hands.

65:23 They shall not labor in vain, or bear children for calamity; for they shall be offspring blessed by the LORD– and their descendants as well.

65:24 Before they call I will answer, while they are yet speaking I will hear.

65:25 The wolf and the lamb shall feed together, the lion shall eat straw like the ox; but the serpent–its food shall be dust! They shall not hurt or destroy on all my holy mountain, says the LORD.

Isaiah 12
12:1 You will say in that day: I will give thanks to you, O LORD, for though you were angry with me, your anger turned away, and you comforted me.

12:2 Surely God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid, for the LORD GOD is my strength and my might; he has become my salvation.

12:3 With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvation.

12:4 And you will say in that day: Give thanks to the LORD, call on his name; make known his deeds among the nations; proclaim that his name is exalted.

12:5 Sing praises to the LORD, for he has done gloriously; let this be known in all the earth.

12:6 Shout aloud and sing for joy, O royal Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.

Malachi 4:1-2a
4:1 See, the day is coming, burning like an oven, when all the arrogant and all evildoers will be stubble; the day that comes shall burn them up, says the LORD of hosts, so that it will leave them neither root nor branch.

4:2a But for you who revere my name the sun of righteousness shall rise, with healing in its wings.

Psalm 98
98:1 O sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things. His right hand and his holy arm have gotten him victory.

98:2 The LORD has made known his victory; he has revealed his vindication in the sight of the nations.

98:3 He has remembered his steadfast love and faithfulness to the house of Israel. All the ends of the earth have seen the victory of our God.

98:4 Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth; break forth into joyous song and sing praises.

98:5 Sing praises to the LORD with the lyre, with the lyre and the sound of melody.

98:6 With trumpets and the sound of the horn make a joyful noise before the King, the LORD.

98:7 Let the sea roar, and all that fills it; the world and those who live in it.

98:8 Let the floods clap their hands; let the hills sing together for joy

98:9 at the presence of the LORD, for he is coming to judge the earth. He will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.

2 Thessalonians 3:6-13
3:6 Now we command you, beloved, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, to keep away from believers who are living in idleness and not according to the tradition that they received from us.

3:7 For you yourselves know how you ought to imitate us; we were not idle when we were with you,

3:8 and we did not eat anyone’s bread without paying for it; but with toil and labor we worked night and day, so that we might not burden any of you.

3:9 This was not because we do not have that right, but in order to give you an example to imitate.

3:10 For even when we were with you, we gave you this command: Anyone unwilling to work should not eat.

3:11 For we hear that some of you are living in idleness, mere busybodies, not doing any work.

3:12 Now such persons we command and exhort in the Lord Jesus Christ to do their work quietly and to earn their own living.

3:13 Brothers and sisters, do not be weary in doing what is right.

Luke 21:5-19
21:5 When some were speaking about the temple, how it was adorned with beautiful stones and gifts dedicated to God, he said,

21:6 “As for these things that you see, the days will come when not one stone will be left upon another; all will be thrown down.”

21:7 They asked him, “Teacher, when will this be, and what will be the sign that this is about to take place?”

21:8 And he said, “Beware that you are not led astray; for many will come in my name and say, ‘I am he!’ and, ‘The time is near!’ Do not go after them.

21:9 “When you hear of wars and insurrections, do not be terrified; for these things must take place first, but the end will not follow immediately.”

21:10 Then he said to them, “Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom;

21:11 there will be great earthquakes, and in various places famines and plagues; and there will be dreadful portents and great signs from heaven.

21:12 “But before all this occurs, they will arrest you and persecute you; they will hand you over to synagogues and prisons, and you will be brought before kings and governors because of my name.

21:13 This will give you an opportunity to testify.

21:14 So make up your minds not to prepare your defense in advance;

21:15 for I will give you words and a wisdom that none of your opponents will be able to withstand or contradict.

21:16 You will be betrayed even by parents and brothers, by relatives and friends; and they will put some of you to death.

21:17 You will be hated by all because of my name.

21:18 But not a hair of your head will perish.

21:19 By your endurance you will gain your souls.

Leave a Reply

