Children of the Resurrection

10 Nov

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 25 After Pentecost 10 November 2013
Children of the Resurrection
Why do today’s lectionary readings say, according to their heading, that they begin with Haggai 1:15 b, and yet the actual readings start with Haggai 2:1? I looked it up and read farther up in the verses. The entire Book of Haggai is only two chapters long and from what I can tell, covers a time period of less than four months in the life of the people when they returned to Jerusalem from captivity in Babylon. Haggai was a prophet and passed along messages from the Lord to the people. Repeatedly the LORD Almighty says to “Give careful thought…”
Haggai 1:5 Now this is what the LORD Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways.
1:7 This is what the LORD Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways.
1:13 Then Haggai, the LORD’s messenger, gave this message of the LORD to the people: “I AM with you,” declares the LORD. [Is this not enough reason to give careful thought?]
2:15 “‘Now give careful thought to this from this day on—consider how things were before one stone was laid on another in the LORD’s temple.
2: 18 ‘From this day on, from this twenty-fourth day of the ninth month [Birthing period?], give careful thought to the day when the foundation of the LORD’s temple was laid. Give careful thought:
Yahweh had been very honest with the people:
Haggai 1:9 “You expected much, but see, it turned out to be little. What you brought home, I blew away. Why?” declares the LORD Almighty. “Because of My House, which remains a ruin, while each of you is busy with your own house.
Back in Israel’s day that honesty was spoken on Day 1 (Hag 1:1) just as it was spoken again in our day. (I know. I was there on our Day 1.) Twenty-four days later Zerubbabel (governor of Judah (Hag 2:2)) and Joshua (the high priest in 520 BC) and the whole remnant of the people who had just come out of exile in Babylon all […now drum roll, please…]
“OBEYED the voice of the LORD their God
AND the message of the prophet Haggai,
because the LORD their God had sent him.
AND the people feared the LORD.” (Hag 1:12)
[…please, don’t rush past this, dear reader, He’s talking to you…]
[Now read it again. Back up to the honesty part and reread it through “AND the people feared the LORD.” I don’t write just for entertainment. Read it again if necessary.]
[Moving along…]
The Lord assures the people through Haggai that He is with them. (v 13) Then the Spirit stirs the leaders and the people and they begin to work on the House of the Lord. (v 14) This is all terribly exciting! Then within less than a month discouragement sets in. (Hag 1:15-2:1) (Man, it happens fast!) My NIV notes (p 1393) say that the Jews were more to blame for their inactivity in rebuilding the Temple than because of their struggles with neighbors or opponents, and Haggai tried to arouse them from their lethargy. King Darius was supportive of the Jews. The real issue was not one of support, but of internal attitude. Knowing a bit about human behavior, the pattern is consistent: It takes outside pressure to put a fire under the bums of those who have stagnated in order for them to get motivated to finish a project. The real knot in the knickers comes when everyone realizes that no one knows how it’s supposed to look!
Haggai 2:3 Who is left among you that saw this house in its former glory? How does it look to you now? Is it not in your sight as nothing?
Gadzooks! This is true today! The prophets have vision, but the Church-as-Institution doesn’t acknowledge the Office of the Prophet, so the ones with the vision don’t talk to the ones that need the vision.
Tim Cahill sheds some light:
“…Each age in our past history has bestowed on us its own contribution, as well as its own continuing curse. This intimate combination of contribution and curse then makes up a portion of the patrimony that we receive and pass on to future generations. The men that we Americans call our Founding Fathers, for instance, gave us, enshrined in the Declaration of Independence, a new politics that would go by the name of democracy. But they also bequeathed to us a founding racism that we have found it almost impossible to jettison. The past is not past; it continues to live with us in the present.
“Nothing will come of nothing,” [!] snapped King Lear at his one loving daughter, as if he had just been reading Aristotle. In logic, as in evolution and in all forms of development, nothing can come of nothing [!]; rather, everything has a precedent: something that went before, something from which the phenomenon under study springs and takes its being. The one exception would seem to be the cosmos itself, which appears, whether in ancient theologies or in modern science, to emerge ex nihilo, from nothing [!]. But everything else known to us has a cause, a trigger, a parent, a thing from which it sprang.
When did ego—the personal “I,” the self as we now understand it—come to be? Where do we find its earliest expression? Well, there is certainly ego in the Renaissance artists and, further back, in the self-promotion of a salesman such as Columbus. But nowhere in our earlier history does the force of ego ring so fully and defiantly as in the scene at Worms, where Brother Martin—this “pile of shit,” as he so often called himself—dared to say “No” to the assembled forces of early modern Europe, to the entire panoply of church and state, and to cite his own little conscience (surely a negligible phenomenon to the majority of his listeners) as the reason for his absolute, unnuanced, unhedged rebellion. For this reason, though we can certainly name many of his immediate predecessors, we must pause before the figure of Martin Luther and acknowledge both his astonishing contemporaneity and our, perhaps somewhat uncomfortable, brotherhood with him.
The current inflation of ego in the self-presentation of so many public figures does not, however, erase the startling moral value of what Luther did.
… In the end, the cultural forces that brought about such transformation need not be belittled by evidence that a heightened sense of ego may have led also to a heightened egotism. Egotism, that is, a false or disproportionate value placed on personal, subjective experience and on individual identity, has certainly accompanied a deepening of subjectivity and cheapened it throughout our contemporary world. The current inflation of ego in the self-presentation of so many public figures does not, however, erase the startling moral value of what Luther did, nor can it erase what subsequent men and women of courage have achieved in every hour since then, nor what they continue to achieve in our time. …”
The inflated ego-run-amok and morphing into our current state of institutionalized Egotism has created a Church we no longer recognize. And yet God has commissioned us to rebuild His spiritual Temple. How do we build when we don’t know what it should look like? Ah, but the Spirit reveals as we are working: “Work, for I AM with you, says the LORD of Hosts.” (Hag 2:4) Haggai and the leaders and the remnant were commissioned by God to rebuild the Temple (Hag 1:8), just as the leaders and the remnant are commissioned by God today to rebuild His spiritual Temple. We don’t know what this Temple will look like, but we know it will embody all of God’s own character and qualities. We will know it by His Spirit. So our task is to keep in the Spirit:
Jude 1:20 But you, dear friends, by building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, 21 keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life. [See, not deferred life! It is eternal life and Eternity starts now!]
22 Be merciful [!] to those who doubt; 23 save others by snatching them from the fire [trap, snare, deception]; to others show mercy, mixed with fear [!-both]—hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh [spiritually tainted clothing leaves an ugly energetic signature from the secretions of one’s flesh which one can feel/sense when one is “awake.” A child would express this corruption like, “That’s creepy!”].
We know that the latter splendor of God’s House will be greater than the former, according to God’s own words. (Hag 2:9) What the Lectionary Barons left out were the verses which give us instructions on how to move into that “latter splendor” to make it a present-day reality. So, how do we do that? […Drum roll, please…]
Haggai 2:11 “This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Ask the priests what the law says.”
Huh?
Well, it actually makes sense. The priests know the law. Are they practicing the laws that they preach? Now THAT takes courage! Well, actually it takes more love of relationship with God than with one’s self, and then love does courageous things! However, when love of the law overrides love of God, then there’s idol-worship at hand, (ie making the law the idol, or making one’s self the idol and ignoring the law.) When that happens, then that sets the stage for “the lawless one” in the temple of God.
2 Thes 2:3 Let no one deceive you in any way; for that day [“The Day of the Lord”] will not come unless the rebellion comes first and the lawless one is revealed, the one destined for destruction.
2:4 He opposes and exalts himself above every so-called god or object of worship, so that he takes his seat in the temple of God, declaring himself to be God.
When this happens it takes Courage (x 3, just as God had to encourage the people three times in Haggai 2:4). It takes courage to face the Abomination of Desolation. (Dan 9:27) Isn’t this Abomination Satan’s job? Isn’t this what he has been trying to do all along? He makes himself the object of worship, takes his seat in the temple of God and declares himself to be God? Paul said the Day of the Lord will not come unless the rebellion comes first. (2 Thes 2:3) Satan is the lawless one and he has been revealed (v 3), has already been destined for destruction (v 3), but I guess the Church didn’t get the memo. They became quickly shaken in mind and alarmed by spirit, word, and letter to the effect that the Day of the Lord is already here. (v2) They cried: Let no one deceive you in any way!!! (v 3) Sound advice. The Church reacted in panic, then rebelled. And God did the same thing to us as He did with the Israelites in Haggai’s day and explains why we received the results that we did:
Haggai 2:17 I struck all the work of your hands with blight, mildew and hail, yet you did not return to me,’ declares the LORD.
We saw the same thing when we experienced the reality of Rev 16:21 and great “hailstones weighing a talent each” fell from heaven on the people and we cursed God for such creativity for it was the most terrible plague. Hailstones of talent? Well, yes! There has been a great boon in creative talent, but the people just curse God all the more. How do you think that makes the Gift Giver feel when the gift is not acknowledged? What else was God supposed to do? We have free will. What did God say to Haggai? Again, God says, “Give careful thought to the day when the foundation of the Lord’s Temple was laid. Give careful thought:” (Hag 2:18)
“Is there yet any seed left in the barn?” (v 19)
God offered “the vine and the fig tree” [spiritual good and natural good ],
the “pomegranate” [the resurrected life ]
and the “olive tree” [peace and re-connection was offered to the Seven Churches, (cf also with Zechariah 4)]
and until now they have not borne fruit. (Hag 2:19)
Garris Elkins prophesied of the Lord (05 Nov 13) which expressed this truth:
“I see a sorrow in your heart – a sorrow of what could have been. I gave you revival to carry. What I gave you was dropped and broken through human failure and fear. This was not My plan. Why do you think I do not have another wave to break into your midst? I am not asking you to pick up the broken pieces from the past and try to reassemble them and call it “new.” I always bring something new. What is coming is completely new and birthed in My presence.
“I will erase your unbelief, if you place your belief in Me, not in what you have demanded of Me. You have no idea what this wave will look like because it was created in a place outside of human fear and failure. When I move, it will not always be familiar. In that place of unfamiliarity I ask for your trust.
“I am asking you to leave behind a human wondering that is marked with unbelief – wondering if and when I will move again. I am calling you to a place of wonder where you will be like a child unwrapping a gift. My joy will become your joy and wonder.”
In the dark swirling circles that have been breeding fear, failure, and unbelief, cries of “Conspiracy!” rang out as the Church fought hard not to be deceived, especially since the Lord told us not to be deceived! (Lk 21:8) Go deeper:
Isaiah 8: 11 This is what the LORD says to me with his strong hand upon me, warning me not to follow the way of this people:
12 “Do not call conspiracy
everything this people calls a conspiracy;
do not fear what they fear,
and do not dread it.
13 The LORD Almighty is the one you are to regard as holy,
he is the one you are to fear,
he is the one you are to dread.
14 He will be a holy place;
for both Israel and Judah he will be
a stone that causes people to stumble
and a rock that makes them fall.
And for the people of Jerusalem he will be
a trap and a snare.
15 Many of them will stumble;
they will fall and be broken,
they will be snared and captured.”
16 Bind up this testimony of warning
and seal up God’s instruction among my disciples.
17 I will wait for the LORD,
who is hiding his face from the descendants of Jacob.
I will put my trust in him.
18 Here am I, and the children the LORD has given me. We are signs and symbols in Israel from the LORD Almighty, who dwells on Mount Zion [the heart].
Both Israel and the Church share a common experience. Out of one collective “lawless one” (2 Thes 2:3) births two to serve the Lord of all the earth. (Zech 4:14) Even with all the ignored opportunities and disappointments, the Church is not the one destined for destruction even though we have behaved lawlessly. The miracle of grace can transform the ugliest dragon. In the Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952) CS Lewis describes what the Alpha and Omega, death-to-resurrection experience feels like. Eustace Clarence Scrubb, “who almost deserved his name” [first page of the story] was enticed by greed to lay down in a dragon’s lair and fell asleep on top of its treasure trove. Eustace went to sleep as a boy with a bracelet and woke up as a dragon with an armband imbedded into his flesh as his dragon scales overcame him. Later Eustace describes to Edmund what it was like when Aslan [the Christ figure in the form of a Lion in these Chronicles of Narnia stories] removed his dragon skin:
Eustace: “Well, anyway, I looked up and saw the very last thing I expected: a huge lion coming slowly toward me. And one queer thing was that there was no moon last night, but there was moonlight where the lion was. So it came nearer and nearer. I was terribly afraid of it. You may think that, being a dragon, I could have knocked any lion out easily enough. But it wasn’t that kind of fear. I wasn’t afraid of it eating me, I was just afraid of it – if you can understand. Well, it came close up to me and looked straight into my eyes. And I shut my eyes tight. But that wasn’t any good because it told me to follow it.”
“You mean it spoke!”
“I don’t know. Now that you mention it, I don’t think it did. But it told me all the same. And I knew I’d have to do what it told me, so I got up and followed it. And it led me a long way into the mountains. And there was always this moonlight over and round the lion wherever we went. So at last we came to the top of a mountain I’d never seen before and on the top of this mountain there was a garden – trees and fruit and everything. In the middle of it there was a well.
“I knew it was a well because you could see the water bubbling up from the bottom of it: but it was a lot bigger than most wells – like a very big round bath with marble steps going down into it. The water was as clear as anything and I thought if I could get in there and bathe, it would ease the pain in my leg. But the lion told me I must undress first. Mind you I don’t know if he said any words out loud or not.
“I was just going to say that I couldn’t undress because I hadn’t any clothes on when I suddenly thought that dragons are snaky sort of things and snakes can cast their skins. Oh, of course, thought I, that’s what the lion means. So I started scratching myself and my scales began coming off all over the place. And then I scratched a little deeper and, instead of just scales coming off here and there, my whole skin started peeling off beautifully, like it does after an illness, or as if I was a banana. In a minute or two I just stepped out of it. I could see it lying there beside me, looking rather nasty. It was a most lovely feeling. So I started to go down into the well for my bathe.
“But just as I was going to put my feet into the water I looked down and saw that they were all hard and rough and wrinkled and scaly just as they had been before. Oh, that’s all right, said I, it only means I had another smaller suit on underneath the first one, and I’ll have to get out of it too. So I scratched and tore again and this underskin peeled off beautifully and out I stepped and left it lying beside the other one and went down to the well for my bathe.
“Well, exactly the same thing happened again. And I thought to myself, oh dear, how ever many skins have I got to take off? For I was longing to bathe my leg. So I scratched away for the third time and got off a third skin, just like the two others, and stepped out of it. But as soon as I looked at myself in the water I knew it had been no good.
“Then the lion said – but I don’t know if it spoke – ‘You will have to let me undress you.’ I was afraid of his claws, I can tell you, but I was pretty nearly desperate now. So I just lay flat down on my back to let him do it.
“The very first tear he made was so deep that I thought it had gone right into my heart. And when he began pulling the skin off, it hurt worse than anything I’ve ever felt. The only thing that made me able to bear it was just the pleasure of feeling the stuff peel off. You know – if you’ve ever picked the scab off a sore place. It hurts like billy-oh but it is fun to see it coming away.”
“I know exactly what you mean,” said Edmund.
“Well, he peeled the beastly stuff right off – just as I thought I’d done it myself the other three times, only they hadn’t hurt – and there it was, lying on the grass: only ever so much thicker, and darker, and more knobbly-looking than the others had been. And there was I as smooth and soft as a peeled switch and smaller than I had been. Then he caught hold of me – I didn’t like that much for I was very tender underneath now that I’d no skin on – and threw me into the water. It smarted like anything but only for a moment. After that it became perfectly delicious and as soon as I started swimming and splashing I found that all the pain had gone from my arm. And then I saw why. I’d turned into a boy again. You’d think me simply phoney if I told you how I felt about my own arms. I know they’ve no muscle and are pretty mouldy compared with Caspian’s, but I was so glad to see them.
“After a bit the lion took me out and dressed me –- ”
“Dressed you? With his paws?”
“Well, I don’t exactly remember that bit. But he did somehow or other: in new clothes – the same I’ve got on now, as a matter of fact. And then suddenly I was back here. Which is what makes me think it must have been a dream.”
“No, it wasn’t a dream,” said Edmund.
“Why not?”
“Well, there are the clothes, for one thing. And you have been – well, un-dragoned, for another.”
“What do you think it was, then?” asked Eustace.
“I think you’ve seen Aslan,” said Edmund.
“Aslan!” said Eustace. “I’ve heard that name mentioned several times since we joined the Dawn Treader. And I felt – I don’t know what – I hated it. But I was hating everything then. And by the way, I’d like to apologize. I’m afraid I’ve been pretty beastly.”
[Breathe, dear reader…]
Even though the Church has behaved beastly, God has good plans for us. God said, “From this day on I will bless you.” (Hag 2:19) Weren’t those God’s first words when He laid the foundations of the earth and said that it was GOOD? (Gen 1:10) And isn’t God telling us to remember and give careful thought to the day when the foundation of the Lord’s Temple was laid? (v 18) And isn’t blessing based on GOODNESS?
Revelation 20 talks about Satan’s Doom, and (I believe) we are all agreed that Satan is the “lawless one,” right? Even bringing up this topic makes many people jumpy, afraid, and panicky. Ok, steady. Anchor in Jesus Christ. Please read through this next verse slowly and savor it, taking special notice that we are sanctified by the Spirit and through belief in the Truth:
2 Thes 2:13 But we must always give thanks to God for you, brothers and sisters beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the first fruits for salvation through sanctification by the Spirit [!] and through belief in the truth [!].
Rev 20:3 says that Satan was thrown into the Abyss until the thousand years were ended and then he was released for a short time.
Rev 20:2 He seized the dragon, that ancient serpent, who is the devil, or Satan, and bound him for a thousand years. 3 He threw him into the Abyss, and locked and sealed it over him, to keep him from deceiving the nations anymore until the thousand years were ended. After that, he must be set free for a short time.
And he was. Look at the time frame from a logical point of view:
Lance Wallnau lays it out there in “Realms Collide” (Facebook, 02 Nov 13):
“Imagine the world of tomorrow is not really that far away. Hebrews 6:5 says that believers taste the powers of the age to come. Jude says that “Enoch, seventh from Adam” saw the future and entered into what he saw. Hummm. Enoch 7th from Adam? Check this out…from Adam to Abraham is 2000 years. From Abraham to Jesus is 2000 years. From Jesus to us is 2000 years. Thats a total of 6000 years having transpired. If as Peter says, “a day with the Lord is as 1000 years” we have passed 6 days! The 7th day is the millennium, day of rest. We are crossing over into the 7th day…now! This is the “translation” generation.”
Now please look at the “first fruits” (2 Thes 2:13) of a thousand years ago. A thousand years ago (societally-speaking) we transitioned from the Dark Ages of superstition to the Middle Ages when classical learning in universities changed the heart-mind landscape. Bologna became the first university in Europe to grant degrees in 1088. Ten years later, God raised up St Hildegard of Bingen (1098). The Feudal System blossomed into the Crusades in the 11th, 12th, and 13th centuries. Fighting for (and in) the name of Christ became literal. The spiritual beauty of this time was that the people intuitively understood the Holy Spirit and the mysterious face of God.
God raised up St Dominic (1170), founder of the Dominicans, The Order of Preachers, and he was a balm during the Medieval Inquisition (1184-1230’s). God raised up St Francis (1182-1226) with his message of liberation by union with Christ. Francis had a mystical marriage with Christ, and also saw an apparition of Him. Francis anchored society as he joyfully shared his spirit of freedom in not being weighed down by possessions. He lived his faith by showing everyone that in being poor, we are indeed rich, because we know that God provides everything we need. Francis was another mystic anchor. He had two seemingly contradictory tendencies in himself [much like I have in myself!]—his great desire for solitude and contemplation struggling with his equally great desire to share the Gospel by word and example. The Gospels themselves were his Rule of Life, and his only thought was the imitation of Our Lord in all things.
Since this was the setting at the end of the first millennium, then it would make sense that when society “woke up,” that was the equivalent of a societal “resurrection.”
Rev 20: 5 (The rest of the “dead” did not come to life until the thousand years were ended.) This is the first resurrection.
Shedding the beastly “dragon skin” of the ego-self is the “second death.” They experienced unimaginable grief and the “second death” had no power over them.
Rev 20: 6 Blessed and holy are those who share in the first resurrection. The second death has no power over them, but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with him for a thousand years.
So, since the saints of a thousand years ago have been reigning with Christ as priests of God for a millennium, and by going on the understanding that “Resurrection” on this side of the Divide is the grieving and healing cycle of Alpha and Omega, then that would mean that those who have enjoyed the first fruits of the Anchorites since the Crusades have partaken in the “First Resurrection.”
Luke 20:34 Jesus said to them, “Those who belong to this age marry and are given in marriage”
But there is a further distinction which Jesus lays out:
Luke 20:35 but those who are considered worthy of a place in that age AND in the resurrection from the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage.
This describes the mystical marriage which St Francis and the other Anchorites in history have experienced. We stand on the backs of the saints who went before us. Anchorites are anchored in Christ by mystical marriage with Him and a lifestyle devoted to Him as the One they love, so they neither marry nor are given in marriage. They follow the Burning Bush. (Lk 20:37) Who needs to marry someone else when you’re already married to God and He fills the void? The only thing left to do is to acknowledge and bless!
Luke 20:33 In the resurrection, therefore, whose wife will the woman be? For the seven had married her.”
And with the Seven Churches? In the resurrection (aka from the grieving and healing cycle perspective) whose “wife” will the woman be? (Rev 12) For the Seven had married her.
Luke 20:36 Indeed they cannot die anymore, because they are like angels and are children of God, being children of the resurrection.
And God does say a woman shall compass (not bully) a man:
Jeremiah 31:22 (GW) How long will you wander around, you unfaithful people?
The LORD will create something new on earth:
A woman will protect a man.
And Jesus did address the angels of the Seven Churches. (Rev 2 and 3)
Before Zerubbabel we all (Church and prophets and Israel) have became level ground (Zech 4:7), not by might or power, but by God’s Spirit. (v 6) Now it is our task to bring out the Capstone to shouts of “God bless it! God bless it!” (Zech 4:7) Lord Jesus, YOU are the Capstone! (1 Pet 2:6-8)
Since the Seven Churches cannot spiritually “die” any more (Lk 20:36; Rev 2:11) because they are like angels and are Children of the Resurrection, and the Remnant of devoted believers are like Moses (v 37), then wouldn’t that mean we are among the LIVING?
Luke 20: 20:38 Now he is God not of the dead, but of the living; for to him all of them are alive.”
Does this not also describe the glory of this “Translation Generation”?

25 After Pentecost 10 Nov 2013 Gospel: Luke 20:27-38
Haggai 1:15b-2:9
2:1 In the second year of King Darius, in the seventh month, on the twenty-first day of the month, the word of the LORD came by the prophet Haggai, saying:

2:2 Speak now to Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, governor of Judah, and to Joshua son of Jehozadak, the high priest, and to the remnant of the people, and say,

2:3 Who is left among you that saw this house in its former glory? How does it look to you now? Is it not in your sight as nothing?

2:4 Yet now take courage, O Zerubbabel, says the LORD; take courage, O Joshua, son of Jehozadak, the high priest; take courage, all you people of the land, says the LORD; work, for I am with you, says the LORD of hosts,

2:5 according to the promise that I made you when you came out of Egypt. My spirit abides among you; do not fear.

2:6 For thus says the LORD of hosts: Once again, in a little while, I will shake the heavens and the earth and the sea and the dry land;

2:7 and I will shake all the nations, so that the treasure of all nations shall come, and I will fill this house with splendor, says the LORD of hosts.

2:8 The silver is mine, and the gold is mine, says the LORD of hosts.

2:9 The latter splendor of this house shall be greater than the former, says the LORD of hosts; and in this place I will give prosperity, says the LORD of hosts.

Psalm 145:1-5, 17-21
145:1 I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name forever and ever.

145:2 Every day I will bless you, and praise your name forever and ever.

145:3 Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; his greatness is unsearchable.

145:4 One generation shall laud your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts.

145:5 On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate.

145:17 The LORD is just in all his ways, and kind in all his doings.

145:18 The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.

145:19 He fulfills the desire of all who fear him; he also hears their cry, and saves them.

145:20 The LORD watches over all who love him, but all the wicked he will destroy.

145:21 My mouth will speak the praise of the LORD, and all flesh will bless his holy name forever and ever.

Psalm 98
98:1 O sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things. His right hand and his holy arm have gotten him victory.

98:2 The LORD has made known his victory; he has revealed his vindication in the sight of the nations.

98:3 He has remembered his steadfast love and faithfulness to the house of Israel. All the ends of the earth have seen the victory of our God.

98:4 Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth; break forth into joyous song and sing praises.

98:5 Sing praises to the LORD with the lyre, with the lyre and the sound of melody.

98:6 With trumpets and the sound of the horn make a joyful noise before the King, the LORD.

98:7 Let the sea roar, and all that fills it; the world and those who live in it.

98:8 Let the floods clap their hands; let the hills sing together for joy

98:9 at the presence of the LORD, for he is coming to judge the earth. He will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.

Job 19:23-27a
19:23 “O that my words were written down! O that they were inscribed in a book!

19:24 O that with an iron pen and with lead they were engraved on a rock forever!

19:25 For I know that my Redeemer lives, and that at the last he will stand upon the earth;

19:26 and after my skin has been thus destroyed, then in my flesh I shall see God,

19:27a whom I shall see on my side, and my eyes shall behold, and not another.

Psalm 17:1-9
17:1 Hear a just cause, O LORD; attend to my cry; give ear to my prayer from lips free of deceit.

17:2 From you let my vindication come; let your eyes see the right.

17:3 If you try my heart, if you visit me by night, if you test me, you will find no wickedness in me; my mouth does not transgress.

17:4 As for what others do, by the word of your lips I have avoided the ways of the violent.

17:5 My steps have held fast to your paths; my feet have not slipped.

17:6 I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me, hear my words.

17:7 Wondrously show your steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.

17:8 Guard me as the apple of the eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings,

17:9 from the wicked who despoil me, my deadly enemies who surround me.

2 Thessalonians 2:1-5, 13-17
2:1 As to the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our being gathered together to him, we beg you, brothers and sisters,

2:2 not to be quickly shaken in mind or alarmed, either by spirit or by word or by letter, as though from us, to the effect that the day of the Lord is already here.

2:3 Let no one deceive you in any way; for that day will not come unless the rebellion comes first and the lawless one is revealed, the one destined for destruction.

2:4 He opposes and exalts himself above every so-called god or object of worship, so that he takes his seat in the temple of God, declaring himself to be God.

2:5 Do you not remember that I told you these things when I was still with you?

2:13 But we must always give thanks to God for you, brothers and sisters beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the first fruits for salvation through sanctification by the Spirit and through belief in the truth.

2:14 For this purpose he called you through our proclamation of the good news, so that you may obtain the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.

2:15 So then, brothers and sisters, stand firm and hold fast to the traditions that you were taught by us, either by word of mouth or by our letter.

2:16 Now may our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and through grace gave us eternal comfort and good hope,

2:17 comfort your hearts and strengthen them in every good work and word.

Luke 20:27-38
20:27 Some Sadducees, those who say there is no resurrection, came to him

20:28 and asked him a question, “Teacher, Moses wrote for us that if a man’s brother dies, leaving a wife but no children, the man shall marry the widow and raise up children for his brother.

20:29 Now there were seven brothers; the first married, and died childless;

20:30 then the second

20:31 and the third married her, and so in the same way all seven died childless.

20:32 Finally the woman also died.

20:33 In the resurrection, therefore, whose wife will the woman be? For the seven had married her.”

20:34 Jesus said to them, “Those who belong to this age marry and are given in marriage;

20:35 but those who are considered worthy of a place in that age and in the resurrection from the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage.

20:36 Indeed they cannot die anymore, because they are like angels and are children of God, being children of the resurrection.

20:37 And the fact that the dead are raised Moses himself showed, in the story about the bush, where he speaks of the Lord as the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.

20:38 Now he is God not of the dead, but of the living; for to him all of them are alive.”

Leave a Reply

