Prayer for Mercy

27 Oct

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 23 After Pentecost 27 Oct 2013
Prayer for Mercy
Lord, I rejoice in You for You have given us the “early rain” for Your vindication (Joel 2:23), as Johnny Enlow talked about on the Elijah List (22 Oct 2013.) You have poured down the abundant “rain,” first to the Church and then later to the prophets (v 23), just as You promised. The “threshing floors” of our souls are full of “grain” [issues] (v 24); the vats of opportunities for repentance overflow with “wine” [grace] and “oil” [mercy]. (v 24) You promised You would repay all which has been sent against us. (v 25) You said we would “eat” in plenty and be satisfied. (v 26) I praise Your Name, O God, for You have dealt wondrously with us. (v 26) We will never again be put to shame. (v 26) Make Yourself known in the midst of Israel. (v 27) You are the Lord our God and there is no other for us. (v 27) We bow humbly before You. Pour out Your Spirit on all flesh. (v 28) May we honor what Your sons and daughters prophesy. (v 28) May we celebrate the dreams that old men dream. (v 28) Embolden us to act responsibly on the visions that young men see. (v 28) Pour out Your Spirit upon us “working stiffs.” (v 29) You know our deeds and we have not denied Your Name. (Rev 3:8) You promised that everyone who calls on the Name of the LORD would be saved (Joel 2:32), not just eternal salvation, but salvation from our ego-selves and narcissism. And among the survivors of this collective Dark Night of the Soul shall be those whom You call. (v 32)
Praise is due You, O God, in Zion, Ruler of our hearts! (Psalm 65:1) To You our vows are performed. (v 1) O You Who answers prayer, draw all people to Yourself. To You all flesh shall come. (v 2) When deeds of iniquity overwhelm us, forgive our transgressions. (v 3) I choose YOU! (v 4) Bring me near to live in Your courts. (v 4) We shall all be satisfied with the goodness of Your House, Your holy temple. (v 4) You have already answered us with deliverance by Your awesome deeds, O God of our salvation. (v 5) You are the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas (v 5), for everywhere we go, You are there, for You are inside us, and we are a part of You, just as families are interconnected. By Your strength You established the mountains (and governments.) (v 6) You silence the roaring “seas” of our worries, the clamoring of our anxiety, and the tumult of the panic of the people. (v 7) Even those who live at the farthest bounds of sanity are awed by Your miracles. (v 8) You make the gateways of morning clarity and evening rest shout within us for joy! (v 8) You visit the earth in our hearts, souls, minds, bodies, and spirits – in our whole being – and You “water” us with Your Living Water. (v 9) You enrich us. (v 9) The River of Your Spirit is full of “water,” O God, (v 9) to quench our parchedness. Truly, as a people, we have collectively gone through Your “winepress:”
Rev 14:20 They were trampled in the winepress [of conviction] outside the [religious] city, and [spiritual] blood flowed out of the press, rising as high as the horses’ bridles for a distance of 1,600 stadia.
Provide us with “grain” [recompense], for so You have prepared it. (Ps 65:9) You “water” its furrows abundantly so the worry ridges on our faces soften with Your showers of grace. (v 10) You bless our growth. (v 10) You crown our year with Your bounty. (v 11) The pastures of the spiritual wilderness overflow (v 12) when we seek solitude to commune with You. The “hills” of our understanding gird themselves with joy! (v 12) The meadows of seekers “clothe” themselves with flocks of the faithful when we gather together. (v 13) Lord, there is a faithful remnant out there, of that I am certain, even if I only know that by faith alone. The valleys of stress deck themselves with “grain” of hope. Grace and mercy shout and sing together for joy! (v 13)
The divine Dance was amazing to behold this week as it played itself out:
Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 11:26 pm Lance Wallnau posted on Facebook:
“Some people will love you no matter what you do. Other’s will never love you no matter how hard you try. Go where the love is. What you honor increases, what you dishonor diminishes. If the Father is honoring you it would be foolish to persist in a direction where there is no receptivity. Going where the favor flows is like going where the Father is leading. Persisting in a direction where you are disrespected may actually be moving you in the wrong direction.
Monday, October 21, 2013 at 8:04 am [From me to Lance:] Timely word, Lance. Thank you. I have tried sharing my story with homies to bridge the prophetic gap and it was received with what feels like contempt. Is there a way to share my story with you, as I feel love and receptivity flowing from your direction? ~kh
Monday, October 21, 2013 at 8:36 am From Lance Wallnau:
Start by asking them for their story and don’t do that till after you fed them. Then tell them your story.
Monday, October 21, 2013 at 4:31 pm Rick Joyner posted on Facebook:
“Repentance is more than requesting forgiveness for our wrongs. Repentance is going back to where we missed the turn and getting back on the right road. It also often includes restitution for the wrongs that have caused injury to others. – Rick Joyner”
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 I responded to Rick: “Then please pray that the spirit of Denial is removed so that this may happen. ~kh”
At the same time, I had also continued the discussion with Lance Wallnau:
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 at 8:37 am I could only find one comment box, so I responded to two participants in one box, regarding Lance’s statement:
Me to Lance: [Smile] I believe that I have done all of this. [Fed and shared.]
Me to Jodi Faith: Thank you for your response and engagement. (I love it!) I have tried to express myself as you suggest. [Being like an onlooker; skeptical of myself.] I am still literally seeking a way to share my story, and that is why I asked Lance, “Is there a way to share my story with you, as I feel love and receptivity flowing from your direction?” I have already asked for engagement through the website ‘Contact Us’ page and received silence. There seems to be a communication gap. My question was literal, rather than stylistic, however I can affirm that the onlooker approach truly does work. Maybe the issue of style versus literal was the issue that needed to come up today, so that the air could be cleared and Kudos could go back to God:
A person finds joy in giving an apt reply— and how good is a timely word! (Proverbs 15:23 NIV)
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 at 11:23 pm Lance Wallnau posted a new piece on Facebook:
Lance: “Communication involves a sender and a receiver. If you are sending accurate content but the feeling is off, your message is compromised by the feeling you mixed into it. …
If God had His way, when you look into the mirror you would feel the feelings He has toward you. The “feeling tone” between you and yourself would resonate with dignity, not disappointment. You child of royalty, you ought to feel a deep and abiding self respect, not shame.”
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 9:05 am Rick Joyner posted on Facebook:
The Lord made it clear in His Word that if we are to partake of His life, we must also partake of His death. – Rick Joyner
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 10:12 am Me to Lance Wallnau on Facebook: [Smile!] Thank you. I do! I celebrate that am a child of royalty, and do feel a deep and abiding self respect, not shame. I would also like to add that my message can also be compromised by the feelings that others mix into it via truth, projection, and denial, and not just by what I bring into it. This makes messaging all the more complicated with ample room for misinterpretation.
Chuck Pierce prophesied: “I am coming like the One that will tear down, laying the axe to the root of the tree against those structures that have been set against your gift and your call and your bloodline. I am laying the axe to the root of those trees that have grown along the bank of your bloodline.
“Today, the voice of My Blood is beginning to be released through My people! I will speak into their bloodline and call forth provision, peace, redemptive, salvation, and deliverance. I will cause My Bloodline to become your bloodline.
“I say into that battle – Jehovah Shalom now comes. Even now, I will overturn a seven-year reproach that has been creating confusion against you. (Over) that bankruptcy and breach that came into your life, I am coming to heal and cause you to have peace.
“Get ready, for I am going to upgrade your status! When you present the card that says ‘This is who I am’, I am going to cause angelic forces to cover over and say, ‘This is who they really are!’ – and to let you go through!
“Expect the unexpected phone call! Expect the phone call that will come and say, ‘We need to meet again.’ Expect the unexpected! (Over) the inheritance that’s been in confusion in your [spiritual] family where [priestly] brother has been against [prophetic] brother, and [religious] sister against [religious] brother, now expect the unexpected phone call for I am settling what needs to be settled so you can move forward.”
Me: The only thing missing is the laying on of hands in commissioning. Lance, if you talked with Chuck, then the two of you could gather Rick Joyner into the party and he could talk to my priest, which is really all I had asked of him in the beginning anyway. Are you following all this? Ask Steve Shultz if in doubt. There’s a spiritual party goin’ down and nobody should be left out. It is one big celebration! ~k
[Later thoughts – Sigh! — as my own doubts resurged, which weren’t there earlier: If they cannot meet with my priest, then open up dialogue with any “awake” priest or bishop! Prophets have connections. I don’t! Nor can I make it happen! I’ve tried!]
Wednesday, October 23, 2013 at 11:31 pm Lance Wallnau posted on Facebook: (Coincidence?)
“I just arrived at one of my favorite spiritual locations on earth. A property that is the symbol of America’s restoration. Heritage Village is the former PTL base that crashed under an attack from Jezebel to destroy the momentum of believers. Heritage USA was destined to become a Family Entertainment destination, and Pat Robertson had just won 6 Primaries in his bid for the White House. WHAM! The enemy hit back and the property and momentum of revival fell with it.

Rick Joyner [!] stepped in a few years ago and began the restoration. I am meeting NOW with Marc Nuttle who ran Pat Robertson’s campaign. He and Rick Joyner and I will talk all day before KBA (the KINGDOM BUSINESS ASSOCIATION) opens it’s conference tomorrow night.”
[I pray on them healing, restoration, blessing, favor, grace, and mercy!]
Thursday, October 24, 2013 at 6:25 pm Lance Wallnau posted on Facebook:
There is a promise for you in the Bible that you do not need to worry about what you shall say or how you shall answer because God is going to give you the words you need.

This promise was given to the disciples in order to encourage them when confronted by kings and rulers. It applies however to any situation where the demands of the conversation are greater than your ability.

God delights to speak through you. — with Joe Thackery.
[And still we cannot have a conversation…Hmmm…Sometimes I feel like a wallflower at a junior high dance! And yet Jeff Jansen had told us to keep dancing:
“As we are moving back into a season of the Open Door, God is sending His army to assist us. We need to dance, dance, dance into this new season with great expectation, and God’s angels will be with us to protect, guide and deliver us – but we have to keep dancing!”
My prayer: Holy Spirit, by Your sweet Wind draw us all off the sidelines and gather us into Your divine waltz!]
Thursday, October 24, 2013 at 9:01 pm Rick Joyner posted on Facebook (and I “liked” it):
False prophets use their gifts and the people for themselves. True prophets use their gifts and give themselves for the people. – Rick Joyner
Friday, October 25, 2013 I sensed a collective cry for Wisdom accompanying Bobby Conner’s posting on the Elijah List.
Friday, October 25, 2013 at 12:35 pm Victoria Boyson posted on Facebook (catch the layers of Arc Speak as we say the same thing; I “liked” what she said):
When Solomon built the temple [!] in Jerusalem, he did so because he believed God would come into His temple [!] (2 Chronicles 7:1-2). He made it elaborate and as worthy of God [!] as possible. Not because he wanted to try and draw God in to it, no, he made it glorious because he knew without a doubt that God would soon fill the temple [!].

Solomon wanted very much to please God [!] and make Him happy [!]. He expected God to come [!] and we must do the same [!]. We must prepare a place for Him in our hearts [!] that is so full of love [!] it is worthy of Him [!].
Friday, October 25, 2013 at 2:16 pm In the comment box to Victoria’s statement, a follower (Richard Cerchia) had honestly cried back to her and this was probably the climax of our collective Golgotha-like journey as Richard boldly put words to the cosmic struggle:
“HOW am I supposed to do that? I am already defeated before i start….”
Friday, October 25, 2013 at 7:51 pm Lance Wallnau posted on Facebook (and I “liked” it):
Here is a great exercise. In any field 80% of the results come from 20% of the activities. If you want to grow in any area you need to prune the tree of the less productive 80%. Here’s the trick…understand that the new growth doesn’t show up till the space is created for new fruit. Apply this to your spiritual life, business, quality of family time… Everything.

Jesus said: “This is my Fathers desire, that you bear MUCH FRUIT and that your fruit should remain”

And …. “Every tree that bears fruit My Father prunes.”

The two verses are connected in the 80/20 rule.

Make sense?

Lance
Saturday, October 26, 2013 at 2:10 am Tokyo time A 7.3 earthquake hit Japan’s east coast and worried everyone who’s been praying for Mother Earth and the crippled Fukushima nuclear site. There were no reports of damage. (Coincidence? Or God’s mercy!)
Rev 16:17 The seventh angel poured out his bowl into the air, and out of the temple [!] came a loud voice from the throne, saying, “It is done!” 18 Then there came flashes of lightning, rumblings, peals of thunder and a severe earthquake [!]. No earthquake like it has ever occurred since mankind has been on earth, so tremendous was the quake. 19 The great city split into three parts, and the cities of the nations collapsed. God remembered [!] Babylon the Great and gave her the cup filled with the wine of the fury of his wrath. 20 Every island fled away and the mountains could not be found. 21 From the sky huge hailstones, each weighing about a hundred pounds, fell on people. And they cursed God on account of the plague of hail, because the plague was so terrible.
Hello? We’ve been through this before. The earth and spiritual realms have both already experienced the Seventh Angel pouring out his bowl into the air. (v 17) A loud voice out of the temple has already spoken “IT IS DONE!” (v 17) We have already experienced the spiritual “lightning” (v 18) of revelation. We’ve gone through “rumblings” (v 18) and grumblings of anger, pettiness, bitterness, denial, and avoidance which followed thereafter. And we got a snoot full of “peals of [spiritual] thunder” (v 18) which God answered back to the complaining and kvetching. Japan already had the devastating earthquake and tsunami on 11 March 2011, the likes of which we had never seen before. (v 18) And at that time God had said “IT IS DONE!” Truly He had! And the Church didn’t see the connection, even though she was told. Nonetheless, God is still on the move. Now it is 2 ½ years later. If it was “DONE” back then, and the Church did NOTHING even though she knew, does that not show God’s mercy? The number two can signify completion, like Alpha and Omega and the completion of a cycle. We have already seen Jerusalem split into three parts (v 19) between the Jews, Christians, and Muslims. Now the religious “city” is split in three with those who are still “asleep” in their own denial, those who are still seeking (…and ever seeking because they don’t have the courage to get off the fence and take a stance), and those who are “awake” but still frozen. And the cities of the nations are truly collapsing. (v 19) Meanwhile, all the Church and prophets seem to be able to do is just preach and prophesy at each other. BUT …
“God remembered Babylon the Great.” (v 19)
Father, I am grateful that You remembered! Peter (the Rock upon whom You built Your Church (Mt 16:18)) denied You three times. So has the Church-as-collective-conglomerate done the same with me in three major cycles. They have not denied Your Name (Rev 3:8), as it should be! I understand Your wrath and You have given us the “cup filled with wine.” (Rev 16:19) And whine we did! PLEASE also remember Your MERCY! You promised that he who overcomes You would make a pillar in Your temple, and he would never leave it. (Rev 3:12)
Father, I have given back to You what You have given me, as generously as I could afford. (Sirach 35:12) I know You are the One Who repays. You promised You would repay me sevenfold. (v 13) There are Seven Churches. I am still praying for healing, unity, and reconciliation after all these years of parking and praying for them. You said:
“Today, the voice of My Blood is beginning to be released through My people! I will speak into their bloodline and call forth provision, peace, redemptive, salvation, and deliverance. I will cause My Bloodline to become your bloodline.” (Chuck Pierce, 23 Oct 13)
Lord, I ask You to come into my bloodline. Blood cries out. No one can bribe through blood. God, I did not offer You a bribe, for You would not accept it. (Sirach 35:14) Besides, how could I bribe You, when everything I have is from You in the first place? I offered You my blood. You told me not to rely on a dishonest (not honest, false, pretentious) sacrifice (v 15) and I didn’t. You are the Judge and You show no partiality. (v 15) I stuck close to You. So, Father, I am relying on Your fairness and justice. (v 16) Being poor myself (because I gave everything to You just as You asked me to,) I know You show no partiality to the poor. (v 16) Poverty is not the issue. It is being “poor in spirit” (aka humble) that is the issue. (Mt 5:3) I didn’t make a vow to Poverty, I made a vow to You, Jesus! But You did promise to listen to the prayer of one who is wronged! (Sirach 35:16) You promised that You would not ignore the supplication of the orphan or the widow when she pours out her complaint! (v 17) The Church left me as an “orphan” and the prophets left me as a “widow.” It is what it is. And still I have loved them. O how I have loved them!
Although our iniquities testify against us, please act, for Your Name’s sake. (Jeremiah 14:7) Our crimes are many and we have sinned against You. (v 7) O Hope of Israel, our Savior in time of trouble, why should You be like a stranger in the land, or a traveler who stays only for the night? (v 8) Why should You be like someone confused (v 9), like a mighty Warrior who cannot give help? (v 9) You promised that every “island” [of separation] would flee away and the “mountains” [of judgments and jealousies] could not be found (Rev 16:20) after You remembered Babylon the Great (and is our babbling on and on not great?) and we have received the “cup” You gave her. (v 19) So will You remember now? You, O LORD, really ARE in the midst of us, and we are called by Your Name! (Jer 14:9) Do not forsake us! (v 9) Make Yourself look good! You promised by Your own mouth:
Jeremiah 23:3 But the remnant of My flock I Myself will gather from all the countries where I have dispersed them, and will bring them back to their pastures: they shall be fruitful and increase in numbers. 4 I will raise up shepherds to look after them and pasture them; no fear, no terror for them any more; not one shall be lost—it is Yahweh who speaks! (Jerusalem Bible)
You say in today’s lectionary readings:
Jeremiah 14:10 Thus says the LORD concerning this people: Truly they have loved to wander, they have not restrained their feet [anchored]; therefore the LORD does not accept them, now he will remember their iniquity and punish their sins. (NRSV)
Lord, I understand that we have wandered. Please remember in Your mercy that unacceptable behavior doesn’t mean a mom doesn’t accept her child. Love the child, not the behavior. We were not strong in our faith or in our confidence, but we have kept Your word and we did not deny Your Name. (Rev 3:8)
Jeremiah 14:19 Have You completely rejected Judah? Does Your heart loathe Zion? Why have You struck us down so that there is no healing for us? We look for peace, but find no good; for a time of healing, but there is terror instead.
Father, You promised:
Jeremiah 33:14 (Jerusalem Bible) “See, the days are coming—it is Yahweh who speaks—when I am going to fulfill the promise I made to the House of Israel and the House of Judah:
15 “In those days and at that time, I will make a virtuous Branch grow for David, who shall practice honesty and integrity in the land. 16 In those days Judah shall be saved and Israel shall dwell in confidence. And this is the name the city will be called:
Yahweh-our-Integrity.””
We acknowledge our wickedness and rebellion, O LORD. (Jer 14:20) We share in the iniquity of our ancestors (v 20), for we have sinned against You. (v 20) Please do not spurn us, for Your Name’s sake. (v 21) Do not dishonor Your glorious Throne. (v 21) Remember and do not break Your covenant with us. (v 21) If Jeremiah could not break the covenant with You, then how can we?
Jeremiah 33:19 The word of the LORD came to Jeremiah: 20 “This is what the LORD says: ‘If you can break My covenant with the day and My covenant with the night, so that day and night no longer come at their appointed time, 21 then My covenant with David My servant—and My covenant with the Levites who are priests ministering before Me—can be broken and David will no longer have a descendant to reign on his throne. 22 I will make the descendants of David My servant [ie prophets] and the Levites who minister before Me [priests] as countless as the stars in the sky and as measureless as the sand on the seashore.’” (cf Rev 5:10)
23 The word of the LORD came to Jeremiah: 24 “Have you not noticed that these people are saying, ‘The LORD has rejected the two kingdoms [priests and prophets] He chose’? (YES, I have noticed!) So they despise My people and no longer regard them as a nation [of believers]. 25 This is what the LORD says: ‘If I have not made My covenant with day and night and established the laws of heaven and earth, 26 then I will reject the descendants of Jacob and David My servant and will not choose one of his sons to rule over the descendants of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. For I will restore their fortunes and have compassion on them.’”
Lord, why do You do that? You speak in the negative to make a positive point! I find that irritating sometimes! And You say I’m wordy? But I’m a girl. I’m supposed to be wordy. It comes naturally. But You, Your point was: “For I will restore their fortunes and have compassion on them.” So please have MERCY! You said:
Isaiah 48:9 (Jerusalem Bible) For the sake of My Name I have deferred My anger, for the sake of My honor I curbed it; I did not destroy you. [Thank You.]
10 And now I have put you in the fire like silver, I have tested you in the furnace of distress. [Yep; we’re distressed!]
11 For My sake and My sake only have I acted – is My Name to be profaned? Never will I yield My glory to another.
Forgive us, Father. Your Name is not to be profaned. All the glory goes to You. I would like nothing more than to dwell all the time in Your lovely Place, O LORD of Hosts! (Psalm 84:1) My soul longs for, and indeed faints for, Your courts. (v 2) Even though I am still sequestered in my car-as-mobile-hermitage, my heart and my flesh sing for joy to You, my Living God! (v 2)
Psalm 84:3 Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at Your altars, O LORD of hosts, my King and my God.
Since the sparrows and swallows get nests, can an Anchoress have a hermitage in which to anchor? I belong in a church, not in my car. I would be über-happy to live in Your House, and to be ever-singing Your praise! (v 4) I am happy that my strength is in You, and Your heart is my highway to Zion. (v 5) As I have gone through the valley of “Baca” [sorrows, weeping], I know You are making it a place of springs. (v 6) The “early rain” of confrontation with the Church will cover it with pools (v 6) of truth and gladness. I will go from strength to strength (v 7) by Your grace. You are the God of gods Who will be seen in Zion. (v 7)
Chuck Pierce prophesied (23 Oct 13):
“When you present the card that says ‘This is who I am’, I am going to cause angelic forces to cover over and say, ‘This is who they really are!’ – and to let you go through!”
Well, the “card” is presented! Let the angelic forces cover, anoint, confirm, and affirm! And let me go through! I am a bride to the Bride. The prophets (the “latter rain”) are supposed to storm the Church castle and practice the Love they’ve learned by bringing it to the Church. They are supposed to bring the Church back into the fold, and not just stand outside the pen and preach at them. The prophets must physically come to me so that we can do this together.
This week I received two emails where the prophets were screaming “FALSE CHURCH!” at the Churches. And meanwhile, the Churches are screaming back “FALSE PROPHETS!” at the prophets. [Sigh. Father, forgive us for we really know not what we do! (Lk 23:34) Really! We haven’t a clue!] Falsehood and Truth are reconciled by loving Deeds from hearts poured out in active mercy. It is an active LOVE that will bridge the gap. As for me, I have already been poured out as a libation (2 Timothy 4:6), and I trust the time of my “departure” from this mere existence in my car-as-anchorage while I pray for the reconciliation of the Churches, will soon come to full LIFE as You have promised, Lord. I have fought the good fight (v 7) of praying daily in my car since 01 August 2007. I have finished the race (v 7), as ratty as it was. I have kept the faith. (v 7) I have prayed down Denial, Arrogance, Pride, Jezebel, and all the Goons of Hell. From now on there is reserved for me the crown of righteousness, which You, Lord, my Righteous Judge, will give me, and not only to me but also to all who have longed for Your appearing (v 8) as we wait for You. Bring on Your full Kingdom! At my first defense (and second!) no one came to my support, but all deserted me. (v 16) May it not be counted against them! (v 16) But YOU stood by me, Lord, and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles (the Church and the prophets) might hear it. (v 17) So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth. (v 17) YOU have rescued me from every evil attack and saved me for Your heavenly Kingdom (v 18) in whatever way that means. Personally I’m not a big fan of the Deferment Plan. I still believe that I am Your bride to the Bride, and You promised to bring Your Kingdom in heaven to earth as we have been praying in The Lord’s Prayer (Mt 6:10) for centuries, and which You promised to the loving overcomers of the Church of Brotherly Love (“Philly”) in Rev 3:12.
To YOU be all the glory forever and ever! Amen! (v 18) Just because You sent me to some who trusted in themselves and they thought they were righteous in their own eyes but regarded others with contempt (Luke 18:9), doesn’t mean there aren’t others whom You’ve called as Your own to bridge the gap. Anyone who has never experienced contempt would not necessarily know what it feels like. It is godawful and comparisons, judgments, bitter sarcasm, and prickly red energy comes out of nowhere (and everywhere). Assumptions are flung like mud on a pig farm. Really, there’s no way to describe it. All one can say is, “Lord, have MERCY on us!” Be merciful to me, a sinner! (v 13) Jesus, only You hold the rank as sinless, for You were delivered over to death for our sins (Romans 4:25) and rose again so that we all could enjoy New LIFE! (Rev 1:5) How cool is that?! New Life, not just existence or waiting on some heavenly Deferment Plan! Lord, You paid the price because we couldn’t. We are in Your debt and honor. And to YOU, Father, goes ALL the glory! Amen.

23 After Pentecost 27 Oct 2013 Gospel: Luke 18:9-14
Joel 2:23-32
2:23 O children of Zion, be glad and rejoice in the LORD your God; for he has given the early rain for your vindication, he has poured down for you abundant rain, the early and the later rain, as before.

2:24 The threshing floors shall be full of grain, the vats shall overflow with wine and oil.

2:25 I will repay you for the years that the swarming locust has eaten, the hopper, the destroyer, and the cutter, my great army, which I sent against you.

2:26 You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied, and praise the name of the LORD your God, who has dealt wondrously with you. And my people shall never again be put to shame.

2:27 You shall know that I am in the midst of Israel, and that I, the LORD, am your God and there is no other. And my people shall never again be put to shame.

2:28 Then afterward I will pour out my spirit on all flesh; your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, and your young men shall see visions.

2:29 Even on the male and female slaves, in those days, I will pour out my spirit.

2:30 I will show portents in the heavens and on the earth, blood and fire and columns of smoke.

2:31 The sun shall be turned to darkness, and the moon to blood, before the great and terrible day of the LORD comes.

2:32 Then everyone who calls on the name of the LORD shall be saved; for in Mount Zion and in Jerusalem there shall be those who escape, as the LORD has said, and among the survivors shall be those whom the LORD calls.

Psalm 65
65:1 Praise is due to you, O God, in Zion; and to you shall vows be performed,

65:2 O you who answer prayer! To you all flesh shall come.
65:3 When deeds of iniquity overwhelm us, you forgive our transgressions.

65:4 Happy are those whom you choose and bring near to live in your courts. We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, your holy temple.

65:5 By awesome deeds you answer us with deliverance, O God of our salvation; you are the hope of all the ends of the earth and of the farthest seas.

65:6 By your strength you established the mountains; you are girded with might.

65:7 You silence the roaring of the seas, the roaring of their waves, the tumult of the peoples.

65:8 Those who live at earth’s farthest bounds are awed by your signs; you make the gateways of the morning and the evening shout for joy.

65:9 You visit the earth and water it, you greatly enrich it; the river of God is full of water; you provide the people with grain, for so you have prepared it.

65:10 You water its furrows abundantly, settling its ridges, softening it with showers, and blessing its growth.

65:11 You crown the year with your bounty; your wagon tracks overflow with richness.

65:12 The pastures of the wilderness overflow, the hills gird themselves with joy,

65:13 the meadows clothe themselves with flocks, the valleys deck themselves with grain, they shout and sing together for joy.

Sirach 35:12-17
35:12 Give to the Most High as he has given to you, and as generously as you can afford.

35:13 For the Lord is the one who repays, and he will repay you sevenfold.

35:14 Do not offer him a bribe, for he will not accept it;

35:15 and do not rely on a dishonest sacrifice; for the Lord is the judge, and with him there is no partiality.

35:16 He will not show partiality to the poor; but he will listen to the prayer of one who is wronged.

35:17 He will not ignore the supplication of the orphan, or the widow when she pours out her complaint.

Jeremiah 14:7-10, 19-22
14:7 Although our iniquities testify against us, act, O LORD, for your name’s sake; our apostasies indeed are many, and we have sinned against you.

14:8 O hope of Israel, its savior in time of trouble, why should you be like a stranger in the land, like a traveler turning aside for the night?

14:9 Why should you be like someone confused, like a mighty warrior who cannot give help? Yet you, O LORD, are in the midst of us, and we are called by your name; do not forsake us!

14:10 Thus says the LORD concerning this people: Truly they have loved to wander, they have not restrained their feet; therefore the LORD does not accept them, now he will remember their iniquity and punish their sins.

14:19 Have you completely rejected Judah? Does your heart loathe Zion? Why have you struck us down so that there is no healing for us? We look for peace, but find no good; for a time of healing, but there is terror instead.

14:20 We acknowledge our wickedness, O LORD, the iniquity of our ancestors, for we have sinned against you.

14:21 Do not spurn us, for your name’s sake; do not dishonor your glorious throne; remember and do not break your covenant with us.

14:22 Can any idols of the nations bring rain? Or can the heavens give showers? Is it not you, O LORD our God? We set our hope on you, for it is you who do all this.

Psalm 84:1-7
84:1 How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts!

84:2 My soul longs, indeed it faints for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh sing for joy to the living God.

84:3 Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at your altars, O LORD of hosts, my King and my God.

84:4 Happy are those who live in your house, ever singing your praise. Selah

84:5 Happy are those whose strength is in you, in whose heart are the highways to Zion.

84:6 As they go through the valley of Baca they make it a place of springs; the early rain also covers it with pools.

84:7 They go from strength to strength; the God of gods will be seen in Zion.

2 Timothy 4:6-8, 16-18
4:6 As for me, I am already being poured out as a libation, and the time of my departure has come.

4:7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

4:8 From now on there is reserved for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will give me on that day, and not only to me but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

4:16 At my first defense no one came to my support, but all deserted me. May it not be counted against them!

4:17 But the Lord stood by me and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. So I was rescued from the lion’s mouth.

4:18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and save me for his heavenly kingdom. To him be the glory forever and ever. Amen.

Luke 18:9-14
18:9 He also told this parable to some who trusted in themselves that they were righteous and regarded others with contempt:

18:10 “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector.

18:11 The Pharisee, standing by himself, was praying thus, ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people: thieves, rogues, adulterers, or even like this tax collector.

18:12 I fast twice a week; I give a tenth of all my income.’

18:13 But the tax collector, standing far off, would not even look up to heaven, but was beating his breast and saying, ‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’

18:14 I tell you, this man went down to his home justified rather than the other; for all who exalt themselves will be humbled, but all who humble themselves will be exalted.”

Leave a Reply

