Seed of Man

20 Oct

Kathryn Hauser’s Reflection for 22 After Pentecost 20 October 2013
Part One
Teach
Larry sulked into the kitchen where Grandma was stirring chicken soup at the stove.
“Why the long face?” asked Grandma.
“Just havin’ trouble with a bully,” he said, “And I don’t know what to do.”
“Your grandfather is in the study. Why don’t you go talk to him?” she offered.
[Knock, knock.]
“Sergeant? May I talk to you?” asked Larry.
“Certainly, my Boy! What’s on your mind?” replied the grandfather.
“What do you do when a bully won’t stop even after you’ve done everything you can think of?” asked Larry.
“You’ve got to stand up for yourself! I didn’t raise my grandson to be a wimp!”
Larry exhaled slowly through his lips. He saw where this was going. Grandpa’s idea of “Love thy neighbor” was to “Teach Them a Lesson!” Larry was a good teenager, intelligent, conscientious, and reverent. He tried so hard not to roll his eyes.
After enduring another lecture Larry started to leave and Grandpa asked, “Oh, by the way, who is the bully?”
“My Sunday School teacher,” and with that Larry walked out and gently closed the door behind him.
Larry went into his bedroom and pulled out the vinyl record of “Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.” His own grandfather had a way of making lonely hearts out of everything because he had a lesson to teach everybody, but never had room in his own heart to receive the fresh.
On Saturday Larry ran into his Grandpa Jacob at Home Depot. (Larry was one of those rare kids who grew up with both sets of grandparents living in the same town.) After hand-shakes and hugs, Grandpa Jacob asked Larry how things were going. Larry told him about the bully. Then Grandpa did an amazing thing. He said, “I’ll go with you to Sunday School tomorrow morning.” And that was what he did.
Part Two
The Seed of Man
I stopped writing. The Holy Spirit had done a swirling tickle and this story had sprung up out of my Creative Place. I waited for more to emerge.
Nothing happened. I prayed.
I waited a day.
And another day.
Then one evening in prayer I was besieged by a spirit of Acedia. Boredom set in. My muscles became tense. My legs started bouncing independently of my will. I was antsy. I couldn’t settle down. The next day I pulled out the lectionary readings again:
Jeremiah 31:27 The days are surely coming, says the LORD, when I will sow the house of Israel and the house of Judah with the seed of humans and the seed of animals.
I had understood that the “seed of humans” means faith, because we all are born with a seed of faith. (Gal 3:8 Scripture foresaw that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, and announced the gospel in advance to Abraham: “All nations will be blessed through you.”)
The “seed of animals” I had understood as our sense of safety. Animals view the world through eyes of being Safe or Unsafe.
Living a life of faith can make one feel both safe and unsafe. I had shared my story with four of the prophets on Tuesday (15 Oct 13) and could not even get an acknowledgement of receipt from any of them. The “seed of animal” stirred within me as I felt unsafe. I had to rely on faith that the “seed of humans” connected with the same faith that I have, and that we all share a common faith. Even while the Grand Silence continues…
I looked back at the little parable I’d penned earlier in the week and thought of how unsafe bullies feel. They put on tough armor, but they are frightened. I had on my armor quite nicely, thank you. On Wednesday (16 Oct 13) Rick Joyner had posted a one-liner on Facebook that made me do a double-take:
“Pride leaves a breach in our armor that the enemy can easily penetrate. – Rick Joyner”
Suddenly I got a HUGE tsunami-wave of Loneliness and Discouragement which washed over me. I yelled at God: “These endless words mean nothing without real connection!” Moments earlier on that same day I had felt buoyed in God’s grace while I was working on finishing another project. God’s grace had been tender, alive, and fluid. Then I had shifted to this sterile screen of scrolling words on Facebook and felt sick from the loneliness.
I cried out, “GOD! I am sooo BORED with these people! Please give me real people! Today!” In a flash, I connected to my prayer time of last night. I had had a FIT of Acedia. My head knows that Acedia (boredom, restlessness, apathy) is the last in the list of the Seven Deadly Sins.
[Insert: Definition of ACEDIA: apathy, boredom. Origin of ACEDIA. Late Latin, from Greek akēdeia, from a-+ kēdos care, grief — more at hate. First Known Use: 1607
ACEDIA (Latin, acedia) (from Greek ακηδία) is the neglect to take care of something that one should do. It is translated to apathetic listlessness; depression …
noun 1. sloth ( def 1 ) . Compare deadly sins. 2. laziness or indifference in religious matters.]
I yelled at God, “WHAT??” God pursed His lips and said nothing.
I had gone to bed the night before with the Goon of Acedia panting outside my bedroom door. Geez, that’s got to be one of the worst Goons on the block!
Now this morning I connected last night’s Acedia with this morning’s, “GOD! I am sooo BORED with these people!” The Holy Spirit took my head and pointed my face at the word “PRIDE.”
“WHAT??” I yelled again.
I think Rick must have prayed a seal of purity around his words before he posted them, because projection had no power. I was able to see my own pride for what it was. The breach in my own armor was that I had used scripture to call Rick a name in my writings. OMG! I had sinned against God and man by doing that! I had used sacred scripture as a weapon in a demeaning and disrespectful way. I am so sorry! I am sorry, God! I am sorry, Rick! Please forgive me!
The next morning (Friday, 18 Oct 13) I got back on Facebook and wrote in the comment box:
Rick, I publically confess that I have sinned against God and you when I used scripture as a weapon to call you names out of my own frustration. That behavior was wrong of me and unbecoming of a lady. I am sorry. Please forgive me. ~Kathryn Hauser
All day Friday I felt like I was being held in an energetic vice grip or in a python crush. And Saturday morning I woke up with a migraine from hell. Since I don’t “live” on my computer or phone all day, I logged on to see what was happening in the cyber world, as this is the only way I have of finding out what the prophets and Church are doing. I only do this check-in in the mornings AFTER I’ve spent writing time with God first. God writes on my heart. I live by the principles spoken in
Jeremiah 31:33 But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put My law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.
31:34 No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, “Know the LORD,” for they shall all know Me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the LORD; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more.
Friday, October 18, 2013 at 3:31 pm Rick Joyner posted his daily afternoon one-liner on Facebook:
If we ever get deceived or misled, we cannot blame anyone but ourselves for not knowing His voice better. – Rick Joyner
There was no indication that he (or anyone) saw my confession from earlier. Ok. Doesn’t matter. Confession is not so much about the other person, as it is in making things right within oneself and with God. I had wrestled with God and man and had (maybe?) prevailed (Gen 32:28) within myself, but I didn’t know what that meant yet. I still didn’t know the angel’s name. I knew the sensation, the agitation, the physical reaction displayed as I wrestled with Acedia, but I was not certain this was the Angel.
“Please tell me your name!” (v 29) I called to the angel.
The spirit flows and dodges; attitudes come and go, assignments are shifted and lifted. Every time this angel comes back we wrestle with the old into the new.
“Why is it that you ask my name?” (v 29) the angel calls back.
With me, it usually isn’t until later, when after the dust settles, that I find out the motive. Why? The name itself, the angel’s name for that segment of the journey through which we have just tussled, changes like chapter titles in a book. But until then he blesses me. Sometimes the blessings hurt. Just the same, I couldn’t make it on this journey without this angel’s blessing. It’s just too hard and exhausting otherwise! The angel blesses me and I bless the angel back! What else can I do? Jesus had said:
Luke 18:8 I tell you, he will quickly grant justice to them. And yet, when the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on earth?”
Is believing in angels a leap of faith? I know other ordinary people who have lived their lives by faith. They believe in angels and it doesn’t detract or distract from their belief in Jesus Christ. When Jesus does come back to live on Earth again, I just know He will find faith. His House is built on faith. The next question is ‘How will He make a home out of the House that He has built?’ As I pondered that question the Great Sadness continued as I saw more advertisements for prophetic events cross my computer screen. With all the prophetic events and seminars taking place nowadays, they are merely entertainment when one does not have a community back at home with whom to share what one has experienced. What was that about “The House that Jack Built…”?
Part Three
“This Is the House That Jack Built…”
This is the house that Jack built.
by Mother Goose ~
This is the house that Jack built.
This is the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.
This is the farmer sowing his corn,
That kept the cock that crowed in the morn,
That waked the priest all shaven and shorn,
That married the man all tattered and torn,
That kissed the maiden all forlorn,
That milked the cow with the crumpled horn,
That tossed the dog,
That worried the cat,
That killed the rat,
That ate the malt
That lay in the house that Jack built.

22 After Pentecost 20 Oct 2013 Gospel: Luke 18:1-8
Jeremiah 31:27-34
31:27 The days are surely coming, says the LORD, when I will sow the house of Israel and the house of Judah with the seed of humans and the seed of animals.

31:28 And just as I have watched over them to pluck up and break down, to overthrow, destroy, and bring evil, so I will watch over them to build and to plant, says the LORD.

31:29 In those days they shall no longer say: “The parents have eaten sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge.”

31:30 But all shall die for their own sins; the teeth of everyone who eats sour grapes shall be set on edge.

31:31 The days are surely coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah.

31:32 It will not be like the covenant that I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt–a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, says the LORD.

31:33 But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

31:34 No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, “Know the LORD,” for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the LORD; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more.

Psalm 119:97-104
119:97 Oh, how I love your law! It is my meditation all day long.

119:98 Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is always with me.

119:99 I have more understanding than all my teachers, for your decrees are my meditation.

119:100 I understand more than the aged, for I keep your precepts.

119:101 I hold back my feet from every evil way, in order to keep your word.

119:102 I do not turn away from your ordinances, for you have taught me.

119:103 How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

119:104 Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.

Genesis 32:22-31
32:22 The same night he got up and took his two wives, his two maids, and his eleven children, and crossed the ford of the Jabbok.

32:23 He took them and sent them across the stream, and likewise everything that he had.

32:24 Jacob was left alone; and a man wrestled with him until daybreak.

32:25 When the man saw that he did not prevail against Jacob, he struck him on the hip socket; and Jacob’s hip was put out of joint as he wrestled with him.

32:26 Then he said, “Let me go, for the day is breaking.” But Jacob said, “I will not let you go, unless you bless me.”

32:27 So he said to him, “What is your name?” And he said, “Jacob.”

32:28 Then the man said, “You shall no longer be called Jacob, but Israel, for you have striven with God and with humans, and have prevailed.”

32:29 Then Jacob asked him, “Please tell me your name.” But he said, “Why is it that you ask my name?” And there he blessed him.

32:30 So Jacob called the place Peniel, saying, “For I have seen God face to face, and yet my life is preserved.”

32:31 The sun rose upon him as he passed Penuel, limping because of his hip.

Psalm 121
121:1 I lift up my eyes to the hills– from where will my help come?

121:2 My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.

121:3 He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.

121:4 He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

121:5 The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade at your right hand.

121:6 The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.

121:7 The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life.

121:8 The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time on and forevermore.

2 Timothy 3:14-4:5
3:14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it,

3:15 and how from childhood you have known the sacred writings that are able to instruct you for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.

3:16 All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,

3:17 so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.

4:1 In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I solemnly urge you:

4:2 proclaim the message; be persistent whether the time is favorable or unfavorable; convince, rebuke, and encourage, with the utmost patience in teaching.

4:3 For the time is coming when people will not put up with sound doctrine, but having itching ears, they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own desires,

4:4 and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander away to myths.

4:5 As for you, always be sober, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, carry out your ministry fully.

Luke 18:1-8
18:1 Then Jesus told them a parable about their need to pray always and not to lose heart.

18:2 He said, “In a certain city there was a judge who neither feared God nor had respect for people.

18:3 In that city there was a widow who kept coming to him and saying, ‘Grant me justice against my opponent.’

18:4 For a while he refused; but later he said to himself, ‘Though I have no fear of God and no respect for anyone,

18:5 yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will grant her justice, so that she may not wear me out by continually coming.'”

18:6 And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says.

18:7 And will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to him day and night? Will he delay long in helping them?

18:8 I tell you, he will quickly grant justice to them. And yet, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”

Leave a Reply

